We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dogs on Rarotonga

Auckland Central...
Level Contributor
2,006 posts
87 reviews
Dogs on Rarotonga

Hello everyone - I'm totally new to the Cook Islands forum but it seems I am going to be there in July for a week or two while my husband is on business. I've read previous posts on here about stray dogs so I am just wondering how bad this is now. I have had a bad dog experience recently so it's fair to say I'm scared of roaming stray dogs!

Is there anywhere I should avoid? I'm thinking I'd rather stay in a built up area like a resort rather than a remote cottage. I'd love to hear your opinion on this.

Rarotonga, Cook...
Destination Expert
for Rarotonga, Waiheke Island, Southern Cook Islands, Auckland Central
Level Contributor
17,935 posts
130 reviews
1. Re: Dogs on Rarotonga

Kia Orana Scottygirl, welcome to the forum.

I live on Rarotonga and I don't have a problem with roaming stray dogs.

There are one or two/more about that have uncaring owners, but in the main most dogs are friendly characters - including my own!

There have been incidents of a dog chasing after people on the road and beach. These situations once reported have been dealt with. The SPCA here does an excellent voluntary job. As does the Esther Honey vet clinic with reducing future breeding. We did have a dog ranger, but don't know where he is currently.

If you are fearful about experiencing another incident, I recommend you do stay in a resort-style property that retains security people and on-site groundsmen. There are a number of mid-sized and larger resorts that employ staff to protect guests interests 24/7.