We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1st visit to Nigeria

Rochester, New York
1 post
1st visit to Nigeria

Hi,

I'm planning on visiting in April a friend from Nigeria and this is my first time going out of the country. I met my friend online and have been talking and videoing for about 6 months everyday and I've seen and talked with his mother and sisters. For the trip we'll be in Abuja and visiting his family in Lagos Does anyone have any advice about the travelling or the area?

41 replies to this topic
Ikeja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
60 posts
2 reviews
1. Re: 1st visit to Nigeria

One thing am sure you know is about the risk involved in coming to visit a friend you meet online putting into records the situation of things around the globe and making sure you made your research worthwhile if you can contract a third party to investigate the true nature of the family before your plan date of coming, am a Nigeria and giving you this advice based on passed incident

Medway, United...
1 post
2. Re: 1st visit to Nigeria

Be very careful, meeting anyone online then meeting in a foreign country. My father is Nigerian and I visit him on a regular basis, however, I know not to travel at night, to be aware of where I am and who I am with. I only ever travel with family and even then we have our own drivers and security. Please again be very careful and take note of the reply above

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 post
3. Re: 1st visit to Nigeria