We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airport-Cote D'Or-Jetty-Airport (across a week in March)

London, United...
Level Contributor
3 posts
138 reviews
Save Topic
Airport-Cote D'Or-Jetty-Airport (across a week in March)

Hi,

My husband and I will be visiting Praslin and La Digue for a week in early March. We will be on Praslin for 5 nights and then travel to La Digue for 2 nights, before returning to Praslin for the plane back to Mahe for our return flight.

We are in our early 30s and experienced, independent travellers. I use TA a lot (although this is my first time writing an actual forum post) so I already have a good idea of our plans whilst we are in the Seychelles, but I'm trying to work out the best way of getting from: airport to accommodation (in Cote D'Or), accommodation to ferry jetty and then from ferry jetty to airport on our return. We will not be hiring a car for our time on Praslin as we will use the local bus. We have done everywhere else in the world (Caribbean, Central America, Asia etc) and always research ease of public transport before finalising our trips as this is a priority for us. I understand from reading reviews that the Seychelles busses will not take us with our luggage, hence the need for a taxi.

Would it be more economical to book the ferry tickets independently, and then arrange taxis for the above trips when we are on Praslin? Or should I go via a tour operator who can arrange a taxi plus the ferry tickets? At the moment I'm considering getting a taxi from the airport to Cote D'Or on our arrival (around 400 R?) rather than pre booking it as there might be others on the plane we can share with and if not we haven't lost anything. Is this a sensible idea?