We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Required Age for Checking-in Hotels

Kuala Lumpur...
Level Contributor
60 posts
12 reviews
Required Age for Checking-in Hotels

Hi guys. I am going to Lombok with my friends this December and will be booking hotels very soon. But then one thing came across my mind - the age for checking-in hotels. Since this is the first time I'm traveling abroad without my parents or any adults, I have no experience on hotels and anything that's related.

I'm concern that my age (16 and a half,same goes to my friends) will be denied on checking-in the hotels I'll be booking. What is the minimum age for checking-in hotels in Indonesia, or Lombok if anyone knows? I'll be using my parents' credit card to book them and should I need to bring it there too?

Help, this is urgent. Thanks.

Jakarta
Level Contributor
61,585 posts
120 reviews
1. Re: Required Age for Checking-in Hotels

danieltan1999, hi

The legal age to be registered in a hotel in Indonesia is 18 without supervising adult ( s). Yet some non-chain and smallish establishments may have a cursory eye on this regulation. In Indonesia it's entirely possible, unlike Singapore, for example, where rules are rules and etc.

The best strategy is to check in advance with a hotel about their disposition towards this matter, and only after that go on with booking/ payment.

Edited: 08 October 2016, 23:03
Lombok
Level Contributor
1,965 posts
60 reviews
2. Re: Required Age for Checking-in Hotels

I run a homestay and had no idea about minimum age as I am sure many other homestays or small operations will not.

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3,533 posts
39 reviews
3. Re: Required Age for Checking-in Hotels