We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

48 hours in Varanasi, solo female - worth it?

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
21 posts
5 reviews
48 hours in Varanasi, solo female - worth it?

I have a little extra time at the end of my trip and Varanasi has been on my list for years.

To pull it off, I would have to:

*fly Mumbai->Varanasi arriving late morning/midday Wednesday

*fly Varanasi->Mumbai departing midday on Friday

So basically 48 hours total. I'm a female traveling solo, so that cuts down on after dark wandering. I'm also a photographer, so usually prefer to explore without a guide - but open to input on that.

Given all of the above, is 48 hours enough to make it worthwhile? Any big time sucks I'm not thinking of like airport transfers, etc.?

19 replies to this topic
Varanasi
Level Contributor
617 posts
34 reviews
1. Re: 48 hours in Varanasi, solo female - worth it?

48 hours is enough for Varanasi. Do the early morning boatride at dawn and walk along the alleyways. Varanasi is safe, dont worry.Just stay away from the touts.

Mumbai
Level Contributor
11,396 posts
276 reviews
2. Re: 48 hours in Varanasi, solo female - worth it?

Hi,

The time is adequate to explore Vaaranasi as well as Sarnath. Since, you have apprehensions about the time after dusk, please seek accommodation near the ghats and start your day early in the morning with your camera. You will not realize as the time flies. There is a lot to explore in this old city.

You will meet a lot of international tourists in Varanasi and will not feel lonely.

CarLink

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6,214 posts
302 reviews
3. Re: 48 hours in Varanasi, solo female - worth it?