We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colombo > Kandy > Adam's Peak

Dhaka, Bangladesh
3 posts
Colombo > Kandy > Adam's Peak

Hi,

I'll be travelling to Sri Lanka next week. I'm interested in visiting Kandy and Adam's Peak.

This is my first time visit to Sri Lanka. Can someone help me fix an itinerary?

I'd be arriving in Colombo to apply for a South African Visa. The process itself takes several days at the consulate so i'd be left with 4-5 days to explore Sri Lanka.

I'd appreciate if someone can let me know the following.

1. Which of the aforementioned places should i visit first?

2. Which mode of transport should i take and where to take it from?

3. Recommendation on guesthouses in Kandy and at Adam;s peak

Regards,

Ahmad

St Austell
Level Contributor
3,592 posts
36 reviews
1. Re: Colombo > Kandy > Adam's Peak

Hi Ahmad747

Four or five days would be fine to visit the two places you mention. You could do it fairly easily by public transport and very cheaply this way, although it will take longer, so if budget is not a consideration, hire a driver/guide to accompany you throughout.

If you take the public transport option, you can travel direct to Adam's Peak from Colombo by bus throughout the pilgrimage season. Alternatively, take the bus to Hatton from Colombo and then change to Dalhousie on another bus from there. For slightly more, get a tuk-tuk from Hatton because you can then ask to stop along the way (it takes about an hour or just over to Dalhousie from Hatton) to admire the views or take photos. It really is an incredibly scenic ride.