We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nepal in August 2013

New York City, New...
1 post
1 review
Save Topic
Nepal in August 2013

Hello travelers!

I am still fairly new to TripAdvisor but I have learned a lot just by reading threads in this forum. You're all awesome!

I am traveling to Nepal for the month of August. I know it's monsoon season, but this is the only time I can spare four weeks to travel. I'd like to do three things while in Nepal:

1. Trek (1-2 weeks) to a point where I can see Everest

2. Paraglide in Pokhara

3. Explore Kathmandu

Given that I will be traveling in the monsoon season, how reasonable would it be to do these three things? How bad is the rain this year? Any additional advice/suggestions?

Thank you in advance for your help!

Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
227 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Nepal in August 2013

Hello EndGam3

Welcome to the Nepal forum and greetings from Nepal!

yeah sound nice plan you are travelling for a month but might not excellent trip because of the weather, never know.

You can do 2 weeks Everest base camp trek to see the Everest at staring. After everest base camp trip Explore kathmandu couple of day and drive or Fly to pokhara for some sightseeing tour around include paragliding, Zip flyer, ultra micro flight etc.

if you are interested you can do rafting and Jungle safari too.

Weather cant say exactly how it will be. still August is mid monsoon time here in Nepal. On the trek you might not see clear sky everyday but when you go higher up will be less rain and you might able to view high mountain peaks. For tour and paragliding will be not any problem. you have enough to travel around here in Nepal.

You will get very useful info by destination experts too. Liston them nicely, they are the best information provider in forum.

Good luck