We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ethiopia Visit First 2 Weeks of December

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
114 posts
9 reviews
Ethiopia Visit First 2 Weeks of December

I'm a travel photographer. I will be exploring Ethiopia from Nov. 30 to Dec. 17.

I understand Dic. is in the dry season. Should I be concerned about Malaria in Omo and other areas? I have the Malaria tablets which only need to be taken once a week.

Will fly into and out of ADD on Ethiopian Airlines. I understand that I'll get a discount on domestic airfare. My ticket is an award ticket using Lufthansa miles. Is this an issue for ET to give me the discount?

Will go to Danakil Depression to see Salt Lake of Afrera, do astro photography, Erta Ale and Dallol volcanoes, settlement of Ahmed Ela and possibly join or find a company that does camel caravan trips to Lake Asale. Everyone that goes to this area has to join a tour company. Is it possible to do this independently: public transport or flight to Mekelle and then rent a car/jeep to explore? I have been quoted $350USD for a

3 day tour with 4-6 people only. Is this a good deal?

I will take public transport from Mekeke to Woldiya then Lalibela. How long is this trip? Bus schedule, bus conditions and price?

Can I do Lalibela on my own or also have to join a tour?

From Lalibela will go down to Omo Valley – will arrive at Jinka by flight.

May do a 4 day motorcycle tour through the Omo Valley villages/tribes, price is $400USD which includes, fuel, guide, motorcycle, accommodation, entrance fee and meals to see Mursi, Dasanech, Banns and Hammar tribes. It's only me and the guide traveling, no one else. Is this a good deal?

I'm not interested in doing a big tour group and visit villages that have more tourists than locals.