We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best location for families

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 posts
6 reviews
Best location for families

We are coming to DC next week. I have a hotel in the Embassy Row area but have an opportunity to rent a townhouse in the Capital Hill area through Airbnb. Which would be better for a family? We will spend Sat at the Embassy open houses but the rest of the trip will likely be typical siteseeing/tours which has me leaning toward Capital Hill.

18 replies to this topic
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6,914 posts
20 reviews
1. Re: Best location for families

Hotels give you full-time service, amenities and concierges or desk clerks, from whom you can ask advice and get assistance with bookings, especially if this is a first trip to DC. The Dupont Circle/Embassy Row area, where you will be first, has excellent transportation via the Metro, and many family restaurants.

You may also wish to consider several hotels near Capitol Hill or the Mall, depending on budget. If you wish, and if you provide your budget including 15% tax, exact dates and bedding arrangements, contributors can offer more specific suggestions.

Edited: 26 April 2018, 09:07
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 posts
6 reviews
2. Re: Best location for families