We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Morro National Monument

Roosevelt, Utah
Destination Expert
for Utah
Level Contributor
1,220 posts
49 reviews
El Morro National Monument

I'm new to New Mexico, and I love rock art and ruins! I'm also an avid hiker. What are the trails like at El Morro National Monument?

There is an event planned for Sept. 15th that I'd like to attend, and I would also like to visit the mesa top, so that is the trail I'm most interested in. I may have friends with me that cannot hike too much; are there things for them to do while I'm hiking to the ruins?

Any advice for El Morro, and things to see on the way there (from ABQ) would be most appreciated!

Thanks,

Pixie

3 replies to this topic
vcv
Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,998 posts
189 reviews
1. Re: El Morro National Monument

The trail to the springs is short and paved and, I think, handicapped accessible. Then it continues on a moderately steep climb to the top, which is the most demanding section. The trail around the rock at the top isn't particularly demanding but it is exposed to the sun and can be very hot depending on time of year. The descent is by stairs. The ranger station has a few displays but not enough to occupy a visitor the whole time it would take someone to do the trail at the top, but there is a nice picnic area beside the ranger station, which would be a comfor table place to wait, especially if you have a folding chair. I believe there are a few shaded benches on the short trail.

Acoma is between ABQ and El Morro, but IMO it deserves the better part of a day. The Spirit Wolf Sanctuary is nearby often mentioned by CasaAzul, but I haven't been there yet.

Edited: 05 September 2018, 01:02
Albuquerque, New...
Destination Expert
for New Mexico, Albuquerque
Level Contributor
2,452 posts
135 reviews