We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Momo's Spiral Staircase

India
Level Contributor
150 posts
34 reviews
Momo's Spiral Staircase

Hi. I am contemplating booking a Vatican Museum Tour along with St. Peter's Basilica which would help in skipping the lines at both places. But I believe that I would miss Momo's spiral staircase (I am a hobbyist photographer) which is now exclusively used as a museum exit and all tour groups including the basilica would exit through a door leading into it. I have already mailed the tour company and they don't include this in the itinerary. As per info gleaned from the forums here and other places, the staircase is adjacent to the entrance. Would it be possible for me to make a beeline for it after going up the escalator and rejoin the tour group a few minutes later? Would there be any obstacles while attempting to do so? Can somebody give me directions as to how to go about it? Thanks.

pittsburgh
Destination Expert
for Rome
Level Contributor
40,486 posts
18 reviews
1. Re: Momo's Spiral Staircase

You can't leave your tour group and then rejoin it. If you want to skip the lines, entry tickets will allow you to do that. Then you can take your time and photograph what ever you wish to.

donna

London, United...
Level Contributor
671 posts
64 reviews
2. Re: Momo's Spiral Staircase

No need to join a guided tour to skip the lines, just book tickets through the official Vatican website. You will be able to tour the museums at your leisure. No tickets are needed for St. Peter's as entry is free.

India
Level Contributor
150 posts
34 reviews
3. Re: Momo's Spiral Staircase