We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New to metro travel,and have some questions

4 posts
New to metro travel,and have some questions

Hi,

I'll be in Paris for two weeks on a course(it's my first international trip,so I'm very clueless),I'll be using the metro from the course's centre to my apartment. I've got zero experience in using public transports,so my questions are(I know they're very stupid,so excuse me):

1-Is the Paris metro safe at any time of the day?,what should I watch out for?

2-What is overall the least crowded time to use it?

3-One ticket is one way or a return?

4-Do you recommend buying a carnet or a navigo cart(I'll be taking the metro for 5 days a week in this period of two weeks),if i get a carnet is it time restricted,or can i use any time I'd like?

5-I'll be mostly going from line 14 and line 2,from my searches(the host didn't mention this line),I can take line 6 as a direct line between them,is that correct?

Unrelated question:but do dollars work fine as euros,or it will be somewhat troubling to use them?

Edited: 06 August 2018, 23:46
Best Seller
Eiffel Tower Summit Priority Access...
684 Reviews
from US$ 74.00*
Best Seller
Eiffel Tower Priority Access Ticket...
743 Reviews
from US$ 48.10*
Best Seller
Moulin Rouge Show Paris
3,283 Reviews
from US$ 111.60*
2 replies to this topic
Champlon, Belgium
Level Contributor
9,079 posts
5 reviews
1. Re: New to metro travel,and have some questions

Dollars work as well in Paris as pieces of paper with "money" written on them - in other words, not at all.