We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

southern france / italy trip need help !!

Oakville, Canada
3 posts
Save Topic
southern france / italy trip need help !!

Hello everyone,

I am new to this and have never posted in a forum but I require much help. I have 2 parts the the help I am asking for Part 1:

I am arriving this Friday august 10 at 8:45 am in Paris and taking the 12:30 TGV train direct to cannes where I have booked a 7 night stay at:

Hôtel Le Canberra - Hôtels Ocre et Azur, Cannes.

I am travelling with my husband and 2 kids ages13 and 4. While staying in cannes, I hope to make day trips along the French Riveria to; Marsailles, St. Tropez, Nice and Monaco. My family loves the beach/pool, eating good food and visiting quaint towns. I am also hoping my son and I can squeeze in a french cooking lesson in one of these places. I have not booked anything other then the flights train and the cannes hotel.

Any guidance that could be provided in terms of an itinerary for these 7 days, as well tips would be much appreciated. The hotel in cannes I do not think offers parking so therefore I don't think it will be possible to rent a car?

Part 2 - We will be catching a flight out of Nice back to paris on Aug 23 and therefore have a whole 2nd week to spend on vacation. I have no idea what or where to go the second week of our trip once we check out of the cannes hotel the morning of august 16. We therefore have to figure out what and where we are going from Aug 16 - aug 23 (we will be returning to nice aug 23 to catch our flight back to paris)

My initial thought was to go into Italy and stay there ? but not sure which city and where to stay as we don't want the train ride from Cannes into Italy to be more then 3 or 4 hours. We have already been to portifino and santa marguerita last summer.