We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

suggestions for biking around Clifden

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
204 posts
36 reviews
suggestions for biking around Clifden

I'm planning to spend a day biking from Clifden later this month---perhaps to the Sky Road and/or Roundstone. I'm wondering if I should be renting a regular hybrid bike or an electric bike. Are the roads around Clifden steep and/or very hilly? I'm a pretty regular bike rider but am not used to long distance biking on hills.

Any thoughts on type of bike or particularly nice routes would be appreciated.

5 replies to this topic
Cork, Ireland
Destination Expert
for Cork
Level Contributor
4,209 posts
70 reviews
1. Re: suggestions for biking around Clifden

I’m no expert on this, but I’d suggest that in case he doesn’t come online and see it that you send a direct message to Damian120. He probably knows most about both Connemara and Cycling around here.

Galway, Ireland
Destination Expert
for Connemara, The Burren, Galway, Western Ireland
Level Contributor
3,896 posts
102 reviews
2. Re: suggestions for biking around Clifden

(Thanks Blackgreen, it's a cycling question so I could answer these all day.) :-)

Remy123,

Clifden-based All Things Connemara do the electric bike hire and the hybrids. They also provide some good cycling routes too. The route below can be done over two days if you are including the jaunt over to Omey Island.

https://allthingsconnemara.ie/

Some great viewing points off the route are detailed at Errislann. And well worth the detour over to view Bunowen Castle from the road. It's on private property so unfortunately no access.