We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Help for two ladies coming to England?

Louisville, Kentucky
7 posts
Save Topic
Help for two ladies coming to England?

Hello! This is my first time on the forums here, so thank you for your patience! Here's the basic outline of what my mom and I have in mind, as it's just the two of us going.

We would like to spend two weeks, between London and Coventry (I have a dear friend who lives there), UK, with possibly an overnight stay in Paris. Mom lives in Cleveland, OH and I am in Louisville, KY. I would most likely be driving up to Cleveland to fly out of there, unless it's less expensive to fly from Louisville. We would like to be gone between 11/17 and 12/1 (or thereabouts). The only things we would like in stone (no pun intended), are that we would like to do a day trip to Stonehenge, and we would like to see both musicals, Phantom and Love Never Dies in London. She and I both love churches, so Westminster might be nice, too. Everything else we can fill in as we go, we're trying not to pack it too tightly, so we're not too stressed. (Or are we already trying to do too much?)

I have a few questions. Would it be less expensive to travel the 24th through the 8th? Would it be easiest to fly in to London first, do the city things and Paris from there, then take a coach or train to Coventry, spend time (4 or 5 days?) there and then come back to London to fly home? Or would it be less expensive to make Coventry "home base" and do day trips to London from there? The focus in Paris is seeing the Opera House and possibly Notre Dame, so maybe a tour while we're there? Even having a tour and seeing a performance at the Opera House would be wonderful.