We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Any photographers here that can answer?

Chilliwack, Canada
4 posts
Save Topic
Any photographers here that can answer?

I am going to drive to arrive in Banff June 10 and then head to Jasper the following morning. My sole reason for this trip is to photograph night skies and also landscape pictures in the daytime. Can anyone tell me what would be the best campsite to stay at that I could shoot dark sky from? I just need a place to park my car to sleep in the car. I won’t be bringing a tent for the two nights that I plan to stay. I just need a campground that I can use as a basecamp to sleep in after each day of photography. It's my first time to visit this area so I have no idea where a good place to park overnight is.

7 replies to this topic
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
19,684 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Any photographers here that can answer?

HI

i have no idea about best location but hope you are a night owl as it was still light around 11:00 pm in Jasper early June when we went. https://flic.kr/p/nTpK8W

Chilliwack, Canada
4 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Any photographers here that can answer?

Wow! It sure stays light a long time. Thanks for sharing that link to your photos. Very nice!

Jasper, Canada
Destination Expert
for Jasper, Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Level Contributor
21,704 posts
130 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Any photographers here that can answer?