We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Full size van rental

San Francisco...
1 post
Save Topic
Full size van rental

We are a group of 9 people traveling to Banff and Jasper national parks in early July and would like to rent a vehicle sufficiently big to carry all passengers and luggage. I have already checked out the usual car rental sites and none of them are renting full size vans. Appreciate if you can point me to a few businesses that rents these vans. I am a US resident and have a regular (Class C) drivers license. Are there any special requirements for drivers license in Alberta, Canda to drive such vehicles for personal use ?

Appreciate your responses.

9 replies to this topic
Calgary, Canada
Destination Expert
for Canadian Rockies
Level Contributor
6,192 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Full size van rental

I don't think you need a special license, but it's pretty much impossible to rent a vehicle that large. None of the regular rental companies, to my knowledge, will rent a van that size. You have to go with specialty companies, and that gets very tricky with regards to location/license etc. They tend to be set up for corporate/business rentals, not individual rentals.

Also, full size vans will just about hold 9 people, but certainly not 9 people and luggage. Nor should you really be driving that kind of van unless you have experience with larger/heavier vehicles - they have very different stopping distances, centre of gravity, braking, sightlines etc. from cars or SUVs.