We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Can you help me get a plan started?

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 posts
62 reviews
Save Topic
Can you help me get a plan started?

Hi destination experts. I’m just getting started on researching options for a February 2019 trip to Cabo. Hoping you can nudge me in the right direction and save me some time.

It will be me, my husband, our two boys (10 & 8) and my MIL. We usually do a lot of exploring and excursions, but for this one I think we’d really like to mostly relax. My husband wants to chill out in a hammock and read. I like that too, but I also love to swim and I love love to snorkel. Long walks on beach and some beautiful vistas are also great. Love the look of the arch I keep seeing in all the pictures. I don’t love the look of resort/hotels that have a very flat white stark barren sand look. Like the ones with more interesting landscapes rocky outcroppings etc.

Kids obviously want fun, fun, fun. Both strong swimmers and love to snorkel too. They also love to beachcomb and love animals / creatures from the sea etc. MIL likes to relax, but also likes to take in some culture and she will expect at least a few shopping opportunities. MIL might go in the pool but generally avoids the water.

From what I see it doesn’t look like there’s a lot of snorkeling right from shore. Looks like we’d be doing tours. Am I right? Is there a location with reasonably calm water and snorkelling from shore? Should I just let go of the whole snorkeling thing and settle for chilling out at a pool? If yes, I’d want a really nice pool.