We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Instituto Chac-Mool Spanish School in Tulum MX

Davis, California...
Level Contributor
2 posts
51 reviews
Save Topic
Instituto Chac-Mool Spanish School in Tulum MX

My husband and I studied at Instituto Chac-Mool in Cuernavaca MX when it was located there. We learned a lot at that time and decided we would follow up and study in Tulum at the same institute. This is a school for foreigners who want to learn Spanish. We are retired and it is been my hobby to study and learn Spanish since I retired 12 years ago. My husband joined me after he retired. We are now in the advanced level and have been or several years, but we wish to keep reviewing and learning more vocabulary and slang. Our goals were met at this school and we encourage you to consider studying Spanish here. In our grammar class, our teacher quickly determined our weaknesses and also asked us what we wished to review. I now feel much more comfortable using the subjunctive mode in both present and past tense. In conversation we read about 50 percent of a difficult novel by Carlos Fuentes, "La muerte de Artemio Cruz." We studied his style in this book and his use of the life of Artemio Cruz as an allegory for the history of Mexico. As my husband mentioned, Carlos Fuentes used the dictionary to ensure he included every word in his novel. We expanded our vocabulary and discussed some intricate issues. Our teacher was our guide through the life of Artemio Cruz.

I suggest that this school would be a perfect place to start learning Spanish. One student with whom we overlapped had been there for four weeks and knew nothing when he arrived. He needs Spanish for his work. He was very motivated and I was amazed by the amount of Spanish he had mastered in four weeks.