We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trip Report - Intro and travel

New York
Level Contributor
64 posts
Trip Report - Intro and travel

Typically, I do not write a trip report as I figure nobody really cares about my vacation, but I know that this year folks (myself included) are hanging on every word, anxious to hear updates on the little island that could. As such, I will take my shot at a trip report with one big disclaimer – I am not as funny nor entertaining as 54b. You see, as much as I have tried to fight it all my life, I am not just an engineer by trade, but by birth as well and that genetic curse comes with a lack of writing skills. Besides me, a fifty-something college professor, this trip included my husband who we will call Phil. His name is not really Phil, but if you are a fan of the show “Modern Family”, you get the picture. He is an amazing guy but can be oh so geeky (surprise! He is also an engineer). Next, there was our 22 year old son who we will call Nature Boy (NB). That’s not his real name either, but all his life he has been one with nature and a critter whisperer. This trip was a celebration of his graduation from the University of Pittsburgh this spring (can you guess his major?). Finally, our 20 year old daughter, Sorority Girl (SG), was along for the ride. She has nothing in common with the rest of us and looks nothing like us, but we have learned to make it work.