We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Water Taxi vs. Ferry?

Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
189 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
Water Taxi vs. Ferry?

Can someone give me some pros and cons? Besides cost difference what are some of the biggest differences.

Also, it's my first time going to Nevis (june 09), how long does it take (usually) to get from landing to the ferry. i.e. how long is customs, and how for is the drive to the ferry/water taxi?

Thanks!

Providence, Rhode...
Level Contributor
182 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Water Taxi vs. Ferry?

The ferry is simply easier. The ferry’s run on a regular basis and there are usually 4-5 in service. The cost is $8-12 per person and it will take 35-45 minutes to cross. Customs will take 30-45 minutes depending on how many people are arriving on your plane. If you are near the front of the line it will likely be 15 minutes. From the airport take a 10 minute, $10 taxi taki ride to the dock. On the Nevis side there will be many taxi drivers waiting for the ferry and depending on where you are staying it will likely cost $25-35. Do negotiate for a better price.

Providence, Rhode...
Level Contributor
182 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Water Taxi vs. Ferry?

roper1313- Here is a ferry schedule-

http://boatschedule.leytonms.com/index.php

Kansas City...
Level Contributor
356 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Water Taxi vs. Ferry?

Private Water Taxi

- Faster

- Personalized service

- Possibly the beginning of a friendship or business relationship that can be utilized on future trips

Passenger Ferry

- Departure times can be "flexible"

- Ferry terminal in St. Kitts can be "marginal" meaning you might run into some "characters" which IMO are harmless, but may make some uncomfortable