We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

canadian getting married in Cuba!! insure of what to do??

canada
Level Contributor
80 posts
1 review
14 helpful votes
canadian getting married in Cuba!! insure of what to do??

I am getting married on April 22 at Sirenis La Salina and I have been told that I must send my and my fiances passports plus information stating that this is our first marriage. I have been told this must be sent to the Cuban consulate in Montreal to be translated into spanish and it costs 160.00 for every page plus an extra 35.00 if I dont appear in person. I have never been married before and I am new to this. Is this true and then must I forward the information to the wedding co-ordinator at the hotel?Any help would be greatly appreciated

BC
Level Contributor
22 posts
1. Re: canadian getting married in Cuba!! insure of what to do??

Hi jillian22

Getting married in another country can be quite time consuming and difficult. My husband and I got married last year and ended going to Jamaica where English was the first language. We weren't required to have anything translated.

If you booked your trip through a travel agent, have your agent do all the leg work and research to help you. Email the wedding coordinator at the resort to get more information.

There are a lot of websites that assist with destination weddings. Try using google and in quotes "destination weddings" cuba

This should give you a ton of websites on cuban weddings.

Good luck and congratulations!

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1,767 posts
31 reviews
206 helpful votes
2. Re: canadian getting married in Cuba!! insure of what to do??

We were married in Dominican Republic January 2006. I didn't find the leg work very hard, but we wanted a simple wedding. We only had our two girls plus 2 guests.