We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ViaHero

Warrens, Wisconsin...
Level Contributor
26 posts
13 reviews
ViaHero

Has anyone used this service to plan a trip to Cuba? How was your experience?

123 replies to this topic
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8,475 posts
5 reviews
71. Re: ViaHero

@68

https:/…

Warrens, Wisconsin...
Level Contributor
26 posts
13 reviews
72. Re: ViaHero

I am a seasoned traveler. I have never used a service before. I decided to try ViaHero as well. AND I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED THEM!!

We missed a flight due to weather, and were delayed one day...we had 4 Cubans looking for us, who all went way out their way to help. Aside from the frustrations of the missed flight, their Amistad was a beautiful way to start the trip. Our hero Saily rescheduled everything, at our request, to make up for the lost day. At no charge. It would have taken me hours.

Could I have done this myself? Obviously! But my time is worth more than $75 for the HOURS she spent fine tuning our trip. (And you are not going to get another week for $75, not even in Cuba!) Since we had only a week there, she helped me to get the most of my time. Which is the whole point, isn't it?

The pittance she earned will help support her family for more time than most would like to know. Via Hero may not be perfect, but they are providing earning opportunities that did not exist for their staff before.

They don't promise to make your trip legal, but they sure as hell know a whole lot more than I do. It is frustrating to me that those who don't want to use this type of service are so critical of those of us who have used them. Perhaps they did make a mistake...doesn't mean that we are less for using them. And it doesn't mean they should get a second chance.

I loved Via Hero and will use them again!

Minneapolis...