We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Female,26 planing to travel solo in South/South East Asia

London, United...
1 post
Save Topic
Female,26 planing to travel solo in South/South East Asia

I have reached a point in my life where I am suffering to find the value or meaning of my life. I graduated as an Interior Architect with a first class honors degree and currently doing a masters in Innovation management and entrepreneurship. However, none of this mean anything to me anymore. I feel like I need to travel to find my purpose again.

So I have made the decision to start saving up for a possible 6-8 months trip around south/south east Asia. My plan is to cover south east Asia first then end with south Asia, with the last country being Bangladesh (my parents are originally Bangladeshi so I have relatives there)

I am very new to this so have not really set up a strategy or planned anything but I was wondering if any other females have done this Solo before? How safe is it and what should I avoid? Any other advice would help too. I was thinking to leave next year, possibly around April.

Thank you all.

Tanisha Shafiqullah

I wander the world
Level Contributor
4,714 posts
25 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Female,26 planing to travel solo in South/South East Asia

I did Thailand, Laos, Vietnam and zipped in to Cambodia to see Angkor Wat as a solo female in April/May of 2008. Thailand was still rainy season so be prepared for WET! I found it dead easy, plenty of other people doing a variations of the same loop both directions.

I find travel blogs, google images,travel webs and guide book to be wonderful sources of information before I go.