We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Enquity about transit visa

St. John's, Canada
5 posts
Save Topic
Enquity about transit visa

Hiiii I am Utsab Basu, from Kolkata, India. I am an international student studying in Canada. I am planing to visit India on this April 2018. The tickets I have seen is all via London ( LHR ) and it also have long time layovers. As far as I know being an Indian and having study visa for Canada, we don't need to apply for a transit visa . But as its having a long layover, can I get a short time visa for like one day, so that I can see the beautiful London during my layover. I cannot apply visa from where I live as there is no biometric clinic for UK visa applicants. Is there a way I can apply it from the ( LHR ) airport, or apply online but do the biometric test on airport and get the transit visa overthere? My brother got the visa from airport as he was going back to India too. But I just want to make sure about it and rules and every thing.

Hope to get an answer from you very soon.

Thanks a lot

12 replies to this topic
Brooklyn, NY
Destination Expert
for New York City
Level Contributor
26,794 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Enquity about transit visa

You can use this website to determine if you can transit without a visa. You're talking about being a Visitor in Transit (departing the day after you arrival in the UK) as opposed to a Direct Airside Transit (where you don't leave the airport at all) and it looks to me like you'd be eligible to transit without a visa.

https://www.gov.uk/check-uk-visa

Edited: 18 January 2018, 08:45
St. John's, Canada
5 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Enquity about transit visa

Thanks.

I can understand that I don’t need a transit visa, but can I vist some places, without the visa or like get out from the airport? Its like 15 hours of layover.