We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travel from Australia to Dallas, USA via Vancouver

4 posts
Travel from Australia to Dallas, USA via Vancouver

Hey guys,

So this is my first time travel to the US transiting through Canada, obviously I didn't expect that I need a transit visa for it, I know I should have just booked my ticket with Qantas for a seamless travel.

Right after I booked my ticket with Air Canada I realized this problem and right away apply for a transit visa from the beginning of October. My flight will be connected through Vancouver international airport.

I am on student visa living in Melbourne, holding vietnamese passport and of course I have a valid US visa. It has been mostly 2 months since I applied for the transit visa so I'm on fire. My flight is on the 24th of DEC.

So if anyone has any idea about if I do need a transit visa for my trip or experience of applying for this type of visa please share your thoughts. Much appreciation.

Cheers,

8 replies to this topic
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
1,430 posts
11 reviews
1. Re: Travel from Australia to Dallas, USA via Vancouver

I have only one question:

Why the HECK would you go to Dallas through Vancouver? You can get a direct flight to DFW from MEL?

You may need a transit visa. You need to be asking the Canadian authorities, not us.

4 posts
2. Re: Travel from Australia to Dallas, USA via Vancouver

I didn't expect I would need a transit visa, Ive done transiting a few times, not in Canada but other countries and never get required one.