We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Stone Place Restaurant at The Feathers

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4QQ, England
+44 1494 875007
Website
Today
18:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:00
Mon 11:00 - 23:00
Tue - Fri 18:00 - 23:00
Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Spur of the moment visit and we were so impressed both at the welcome we recieved and at the food. No starter needed as the steak comes with it all and your licky if you can even atempt their version of an Eton Mess. Great place, great wine, great staff. Certainly go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Kelvin B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped in here for a late lunch on a Sunday, having no idea what the concept was. The super friendly waitress (Victoria) explained that you choose one main course option each (different types of steak, fish, or halloumi for vegetarians) and you get unlimited sides to go with it. The food comes with a (very) hot stone upon which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nads_31
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been to this restaurant a couple of times now and on both occasions it's been fantastic. The food is incredible and the service is excellent. Possibly one of the best meals I've ever had.

Helpful?
Thank CSM2002
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In the end it's always down to flavour and quality of ingredients. However you cook them if the the quality is only average especially with steak the outcome is going to be average however you cook it? I think the stones should be much hotter to get that real sear on a steak. Great concept but the end result is... More 

Helpful?
Thank KalvinFX
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Had quick lunch here as was keen to try and good that they are actually doing lunch. PLEASE take the simple step of putting a menu outside on the wall as so many places do so people can see as many won't bother to come in and ask I had scampi and chips which was tasty and nicely served. Small... More 

Helpful?
Thank LoobyLou77
Management response:

We appreciate your positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you soon! More 

Abridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

A great concept of cooking your steak/seafood on a hot plate, meaning you can cook it as raw or well done as you please. The steak was great quality and both my partner and I throughly enjoyed it, alongside a great selection of sauces. The steak was the highlight of our experience. However everything else is average or below. You... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank laurabiag
Management response:

We are pleased you have enjoyed our meat and overall your experience at The Stone Place Restaurant! Unfortunately due to space we have to work with in our kitchen we are limited as to what we can provide for sides and starters. We apologise that the bread wasn’t to your satisfaction, it is picked up daily, baked fresh from our... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017

Very enjoyable meal indeed - the quality of the steak and fish was excellent, the ambiance lovely, and our waitress Olivia was fast, friendly and efficient. Recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Guy M
Management response:

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and the service. Your kind words have been passed on to Olivia. We are looking forward to seeing you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Very good quality beef. The cooking stone means you can cook it to how rare/well done you like. Everything else is a bit average. The staff are friendly but a little unsure at times. The front area by the bar has been redecorated quite nicely but can be a little draughty. The back room is modern and lacks atmosphere. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JB_JamesBond007
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback! Glad to hear you enjoyed our very high quality beef and your overall experience! Your feedback has been passed on to our team members, we ensure that training for staff is consistent in ways to improve the service. Unfortunately due to space we have to work with in our kitchen we are limited as to... More 

South Bucks
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

It was a big change from the normal restaurant experience to cook our own main! I chose fillet steak. Always a good choice. All meat (no chewy bits) and easy to cook by slicing the large barrel of delicious meat into cookable pieces and cooking on the HOT slate . . A novel experiance There is much else to choose... More 

Helpful?
Thank SouthBucks459
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Great steak, salad and even the fries were good. The choice of dips was good. As good as Flat Iron in London. Great decor and lovely staff. Just a small thing, can you get a better speaker for the music!!

Helpful?
Thank Gixa600

Travellers who viewed The Stone Place Restaurant at The Feathers also viewed

Chalfont St. Giles, Buckinghamshire
Chalfont St. Giles, Buckinghamshire
 
Chalfont St. Giles, Buckinghamshire
Chalfont St. Giles, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Stone Place Restaurant at The Feathers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 25 - US$ 31
Cuisine
Steakhouse, British
Meals
Drinks, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4QQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Chalfont St. Giles
  • Phone Number: +44 1494 875007
Description
Our restaurant offers a unique dining experience, where guests cook their meat or seafood selections using "SteakStones" volcanic lava hot stone technology. A wide choice of sauces enhance the eating experience. Excellent quality hand picked wines from both old and new world compliment the menu. Guests can enjoy a drink at the bar with a wide selection of draught and bottle beers or dine in our beautifully appointed restaurant. A very large well kept garden to the rear offers an alternative outdoor environment weather permitting. We are not a chain and are owned privately with no high street chain connections. WE pride ourselves on delivering the best possible meat and seafood which is all freshly delivered on a daily basis if necessary.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Stone Place Restaurant at The Feathers staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?