We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Plough

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Macclesfield Road | Eaton, Congleton CW12 2NH, England
+44 1260 280207
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Went on a recommendation while in the area and the food was quick to arrive and very tasty. The staff were attentive and one was quick to point out an error she made while taking our order which was good to see. Certainly recommend & would return if ever in the area again.

Helpful?
1 Thank thewithers1
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We had Our daughters wedding breakfast at the plough. Every thing was perfect excellent staff, food to die for everything they said they would do they did and more. We eat there standards and food amazing

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam F
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ordered steak here as I was meeting colleagues. I usually avoid eating in hotels as the food tends to be poor. I was pleasantly surprised. Perfectly cooked Sirloin, and excellent chunky chips & onion rings. Sticky toffee pudding desert, fine but not in the same league. Simple main course, which needs a chef with skills to cook really well! Thanks... More 

Helpful?
Thank DalkeyJohn
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear DalkeyJohn many thanks for your glowing review. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our steak here at The Plough. We are very fortunate to have a great butcher who only supplies us with the best products and of course our team of chefs take great pride on their cooking so its a great combination. Your comments... More 

Congleton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here a few weeks ago and really enjoyed the food and thought the inside was quite nice aswell! Only thing was service was slightly slow on occasion but still a really enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
Thank Jake S
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Jake S many thanks for your brief review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our food, we will pass your comments to our kitchen team. We are very popular for Sunday lunches so it is always advisable to book, Apologies if you felt the service was slow, we will address this and we are confident you will... More 

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to this pub restaurant last year for a wake and were treated brilliantly. This time socially and again not disappointed. Good food..Good service and really nice atmosphere. Great stuff. Keep it up we'll be back. Can't rate the rooms as we never stayed.

Helpful?
Thank breakychef
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have called in a few times now with my husband and friends for a meal. The staff are very friendly and have always managed to find us a table. The food is great no matter what you have, my husband loves there fish and chips and I love there Sunday lunches. It is all fresh food and the price... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline W
Jose L, Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline W, thank you for taking the time to review The Plough. It is great to hear that you frequent our pub on a regular basis with friends and family, even without a booking we will do our utmost to find you a table but we do however recommend that you make a booking to avoid disappointment. Thank you... More 

Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely place & fine selection of beers. Menu a little disappointing though as was expecting a little bit more than ordinary pub food. They did have some specials, which were slightly superior but majority not to my taste. Maybe on a different day it would have been different. Staff were pleasant except for one sullen lady who finished her shift... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom C
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Tom C, thank you for taking the time to review The Plough Inn. We are glad to hear that you like our pub and our selection of beers. our menu changes every 6-8 weeks so we are always trying new dishes so there is always something new and exciting for our guests, we do however take your comments on... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Please be assured that all at The Plough will do everything to make any occasion perfect. At the recent gathering for refreshments after my husband's funeral I am happy to say that the whole experience was excellent from the staff, refreshments and the venue as a whole. Nothing was too much trouble and we were treated with great respect as... More 

Helpful?
Thank mave312
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Mave312 thank you for taking the time to review The Plough Inn. We are glad to hear that you were very pleased with the refreshments for your husband's funeral, it is always a difficult time for everyone so we always do our utmost to make sure everything goes smoothly on the day. Many thanks for your kind words and... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Service was excellent and food delicious. I had the steak, it was perfectly cooked and the onion rings and chips were amazing. Thank you so much for the present, it was a really nice touch! The posh toilets were a real bonus!!. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary3012
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Rosemary3012, thank you for your lovely comments in regards to the food and service that you experienced here at The Plough Inn. We are indeed very proud of our steaks and we are very fortunate to have such a great butcher on board that supplies us only with the best cuts. Gllad to hear you like our toilets which... More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Great setting in the countryside. Service was a little slow but it was packed. 4 stars just due to a few mistakes but my food was nice. One ordered medium-well steak and it was rare. My dads starter was meant to be mushroom something and he found 1 mushroom! Also kids meals came about 10mins after adults not great. Other... More 

Helpful?
Thank danny0705
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Danny0705, thank you for taking the time to review The Plough Inn. Thank you for your great comments in regards to our setting. Please accept our apologies if the service was a little slow and for any mix ups when the food came out, this can sometimes occur on such busy evenings but it is great to hear that... More 

Travellers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Congleton, Cheshire
Congleton, Cheshire
 
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 30
Cuisine
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Macclesfield Road | Eaton, Congleton CW12 2NH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Congleton
  • Phone Number: +44 1260 280207

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Plough and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
STAFFORD
4 months ago
STAFFORD
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?