We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sosban

) #17 of 126 Restaurants in Llanelli ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ British, , Vegetarian Friendly
North Dock, Llanelli SA15 2LF, Wales
+44 1554 270020
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good22%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“chateaubriand” (15 reviews)
“pork belly” (16 reviews)
“scallops” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
North Dock, Llanelli SA15 2LF, Wales
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Popped into Sosban tonight for what I thought was going to be another stunning meal only to discover a fresh new menu and what turned out to be a night to remember! Front of house was transformed. Lead by Guillaume they are knowledgeable and super...More

Thank bugsymaloneLondon
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, Thank you very much for your kind review. We have indeed taken a new direction since appointing our new head chef Andrew and we are glad to hear that we have gone up another level. We pride ourselves on our high standards of staffing...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This is hands down the best meal I have ever had. The food was beyond outstanding and pays homage to the amazing local Welsh produce and is well worth a visit to have phenomenal food for reasonable prices. The staff were excellent and extremely knowledgeable...More

2  Thank JenBiggles
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, Thank you for your very kind review. It's great for us to hear that you were so impressed by both our food and staff, including our new head chef, Andrew. We are all excited by the direction in which we are heading and hope...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Returned to Sosban yesterday lunchtime to discover a noticeable change in direction. Seems there is a new chef. Food unbelievably good. Presentation & service even better than before. Recommend the chicken soup. Sounds ordinary. believe me, like no other. Amazing. Curried monkfish perfect. Set menu...More

2  Thank scarletglobetrotter
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for your kind review. Since taking on our new chef we have indeed decided upon a change in direction. Hearing kind words from happy customers such as yourself show us that we have made the correct decision. We are glad to hear...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have eaten in the Sosban regularly ever since it has opened, but in recent times I have found that you can get much better value for money elsewhere and consequently I have not been back for some time. But I recently heard that the...More

1  Thank John E
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you very much for your kind review. Under our new head chef, we have indeed made some changes and decided to go in a new direction. To hear that word of mouth is helping to spread the message of these changes and improvements...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Twenty of us had our office pre-Christmas lunch here and the service was great - efficient & friendly. Everyone really enjoyed their food and we look forward to returning again this year.More

1  Thank Misscro
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear that your large group enjoyed your pre-Christmas lunch with us. We pride ourselves on our service so we are pleased to hear that it made an impression on you. Although Christmas is still...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely 3 course meal here with my daughter. Being a fussy vegetarian it's hard to eat out but I enjoyed, to start I had the cauliflower dish, then the potatoes risotto followed by white chocolate dessert. Eat dish was delicious and different. I...More

1  Thank Jackie S
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that our vegetarian options were to your taste and that you enjoyed each individual dish. Thank you very much for the recommendation, we hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Rhys

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We picked this restaurant for a quiet meal for 3 and weren't disappointed. The setting (in the sunshine) was superb. We sat outside for a drink and chose the set menu which was very much to our liking and good value although we added a...More

1  Thank Huw C
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted that you chose us and glad to hear that the sunshine came out for your visit. Thank you for your kind words on our menu and wine, we hope that you will be...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This would be our 3rd visit to this restaurant - being a Llanelli local and unfortunately this third visit will be our last - We said this on our second visit, but with the appointment of a new chef we gave it another chance- ummmmm...More

3  Thank julesOnTour
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent visit to Sosban. Whilst we are proud to have a Michelin-trained chef in our kitchen, we don't claim to be a Michelin starred restaurant, however, we are very excited by all the new...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Turned away at 2pm when there were loads of tables empty. :( Disappointing. Not suitable for drop-ins. Definitely book if you want to try this place.More

1  Thank Lis A
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Unfortunately all of the visible empty tables were reserved for customers who had pre-booked lunch with us. We would love to see you back at Sosban and would advise that you book in advance to avoid further disappointment. We hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First visit to celebrate friends 60th. Went weekday lunchtime (26/05/17) - warm welcome into interesting restored industrial building. Served pre lunch drinks & ordered food in lounge before being escorted to table. Service was prompt, efficient & friendly. Food arrived soon - all three courses...More

Thank 513NeilB
RHYSANDREWS, General Manager at Sosban, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are extremely proud of our building, our staff and of course our food so we are glad to hear that all three of them contributed positively to your dinning experience. We are pleased that you...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bahn Mai Thai
129 reviews
.65 km away
Roti House
162 reviews
.65 km away
Coastal Park Grill
118 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Llanelly House
265 reviews
1.04 km away
The Furnace Theatre
102 reviews
1.15 km away
Millennium Coastal Park Discovery Centre
87 reviews
.24 km away
North Dock Ice Cream Kiosk
16 reviews
1.26 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
kwilliams24
I am a Welsh rugby fan who always admired the way Stephen and Dwayne played the game. I feel saddened that Sosban is tarnishing the reputation of these legends of the game. I do hope they get a grip of this restaurant and the way it is run. A world class chef is needed along with a world class manager to go with this beautiful venue. The prices also need to be reduced. The food is average and overpriced. My question is this - can you please pass these comments to Dwayne and Stephen?
24 August 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Mark F | Reviewed this property |
I would hope they read the reviews !
0
Votes
carolyn h
Who owns it
9 July 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Mark F | Reviewed this property |
Two former rugby players Stephen Jones & Dwayne Peel. I can only assume that they still own it.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 19 - US$ 64
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 15:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: North Dock, Llanelli SA15 2LF, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Carmarthenshire  >  Llanelli
  • Phone Number: +44 1554 270020
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing