We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Indian, International, Barbecue, Wine Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Seating
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
7
2
0
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
7
2
0
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

Bit of a spit and sawdust pub, the food was expensive for what we got. A plastic straw was supplied our drinks, which were banned from October 2020

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

Rubbish place, such a waste of money! Staff do not know how to manage this pub, no atmosphere at all and you have to wait ages to get served a drink!! - no cocktails just spirits and beer. It is a family run pub, people...who clearly have no experience with managing a pub. I’ve heard awful things about this pub but wanted to try it myself, not worth it. No social distancing at all, limited food selection and even in the garden people smoking weed and cigarettes everywhere. Full of rough people, it’s not aimed at families at all. Staff aren’t welcoming and make you feel uncomfortable, no customer service. Seriously avoid this pub at all costs, go find somewhere else near!!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Black Horse Pub TN16 3DX, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Hi have you visited pub ?

Reviewed 30 May 2021

Limited menu. We ordered Scampi which was wet fish bites for over £9 chips okay, Mac bites, at a £1 each, better to buy from Iceland's. Soulless place, food is a total waste of money.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 August 2020

Stopped here for a quick drink and what a horror! No social distancing, no track and trace, not to mention the awful noise and drunk behaviour. We passed through just after 22h30 and it was like a garden rave. The whole car park was full,...along with the beer garden! Music, shouting and no consideration for others. We drank one drink and left to find a shop to drink when we got back to our hotel it was that bad.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 30 October 2019

My partner and I visited this pub.We had driven passed it many times, looks amazing on outside. Lots of kerb appeal and very well presented, nice back garden. Went for evening drinks on a Saturday evening in August... Very disheartened, such a cold, unfriendly atmosphere,...non welcoming from landlady!! Very miserable. No smiles!!! Such a shame, alot of effort put into this pub but really does not meet comfortable standards at all. Found it hard to relax and weren't allowed to turn the juke box up a little after asking, although the we put our money into it to listen to music!!! Will not be going back there again!!!!!!! Wouldn't recommedMore

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 August 2019

Poped in after driving from South Wales, Landlord is very welcoming and served good food, nice beer garden out back.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 June 2019 via mobile

If there’s one thing that stands out from this visit is the gracious host, the culinary skills of his wife and the customer service of their daughter. And of course the absolutely delicious hot samosas.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

Bar service took a while although there was only 20 guests max. Decoration is so bland. Atmosphere is cold and boring. There is a wall covering the ladies toilets door however it should be facing the other way as people can straight through into the...ladies toilets! Haven’t tried the food so can’t comment.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 17 January 2019

I have lived in Biggin Hill for many years and previously avoided this place. Since the new owners have come in the pub has completely transformed. The two owners Vijay and Nim always go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and comfortable....They have made so many positive changes and the place has grown from strength to strength. I urge anyone who is looking for a safe and welcoming place to drink to give it a try. Any whisky drinkers are spoilt for choice. I am now a regular and cant wait to see what new changes they have in store!!More

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 3 December 2018

Having last visited this pub when I was a teenager..many moons ago..was pleased to see it was still there..small car park for about 10cars..but can park in the road ..no yellow lines..Charles Darwin came from this area and his house can be visited..also biggin hill...airfield is about 400yrs away with those world war two classics spitfire and hurricane outside..lots of shops and store there as well..very friendly atmosphere inside..no steps so wheelchair ♿ accessible..all in all a bit different from teenage years..but still a good old pub..modified without losing identityMore

Date of visit: March 2018
Helpful?4  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Days Inn by Wyndham Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
168 reviews
5.08 km away
Chez Vous Rooms
49 reviews
6.10 km away
De Vere Selsdon Estate
2,746 reviews
7.06 km away
Best Western London Heathrow Ariel Hotel
2 reviews
7.12 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Spitfire Cafe Biggin Hill
110 reviews
.71 km away
Biggin Hill Spice
22 reviews
.82 km away
Jade Garden
9 reviews
.70 km away
Phoenix on the Hill
70 reviews
.90 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Fly a Spitfire - Biggin Hill Heritage Hangar
686 reviews
1.13 km away
Biggin Hill Memorial Museum
84 reviews
1.38 km away
St George's Royal Air Force Chapel of Rememberance
22 reviews
.69 km away
Downe Scout Activity Centre
9 reviews
1.51 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
christa h
15 April 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Departure17723472844 | Property representative |
Hi Christa , Yes we are dog friendly pub. Many thanks Black Horse Management
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Black Horse

The Black Horse is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5