We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clementines Restaurant and Bar

cnr Church St & Van Zyl, Clarens, South Africa
+27 58 256 1616
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“oxtail” (69 reviews)
“steak” (75 reviews)
“pavlova” (12 reviews)
Opens in 6 min
All hours
CUISINES
European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
cnr Church St & Van Zyl, Clarens, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The restaurant is nice, however the food is not as good as described here. It is stated in the menu the chef has worked in Paris and elsewhere in the world. Ok great, but here are some tips if you want to serve French style...More

1  Thank Florian A
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Florian, I apologise that you found our restaurant over rated. We do not rate ourselves, the reviews are experiences that many customers over many years have had and food they have enjoyed. One of the many places my chef studied and worked was Paris...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had a really nice dining experience. Check on the daily specials. Steaks are cooked to perfection. Great service.More

Thank Vargen-of-Germany
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Vargen-of-Germany, Thank you for you lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the food and service. We try our best always to make sure that a dining experience with us is memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Our B&B host recommended Clementines for dinner. Made reservations through email since we were there at a Friday night. Luckily there was a table available, the menu is divers and serves meat, vegetarian and some fish. We had specials of the day, which were great....More

Thank SandervanPijkeren
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi SandervanPijkeren, Thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate it. We are so happy that you enjoyed everything that we offer as a small country restaurant. and are so pleased we could accommodate you on your special trip around South Africa. Safe travels...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked my huzzband’s birthday dinner at Clementine’s based on the rave reviews surrounding it as the “fine dining” spot in Clarens. Whilst every table in the place was occupied, fine dining was certainly not the way I would describe our experience. After being seated...More

Thank 321ksenijam
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi 321 ksenijam, I sincerely apologise that you found our restaurant disappointing. We do not call our selves a fine dining restaurant, our reviews and people expieriences have created that. We are a relaxed country dining and not fine dining. You were expecting something that...More

A TripAdvisor Member
32
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recently visited Clementines and had my most pleasant experience of my trip here. The owners were very friendly and the staff delivered excellent service. The restaurant was neat and tidy. The decor on the inside was very interesting. My toddler was asleep and staff...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Trioadvisor Member, Thank you for you lovely review on our restaurant. It was a pleasure to let your angel sleep on the couch while you and your husband enjoyed dinner together. We only use the best ingredients available to us and our chef is...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Every time we are in Clarens, we book to eat at Clementines every night and we have never been disappointed. Over two nights we had the crispy pork, chicken roulade, pork belly and a steak. All were amazing - so flavourful and all meat so...More

Thank Kevin S
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kevin, Thank you for your amazing review on our restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed both your dinners with us. You are very good for our ego's eating with us so often. Customers like you guys make all the hard work worthwhile.We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was very tasty and beautifully presented. Dessert was very yummy too. Very romantic atmosphere. A most go for couples.More

Thank _rusinda_accounts
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Rusinda, Thank you for your lovely review on our restaurant. We are so glad that you enjoyed everything that we want to achieve with our customers in a small country restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are ect in our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would love to come back and taste their delicious food once again. We were recommended this restaurant by a South African friend and it surely doesn't disappoint you! The chefs has manage to compiled different flavours around the world within his dishes and it...More

Thank Paula U
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Paula U, Thank you for your excellent review on our restaurant, we really appreciate it. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time spent with us. We are priveledged to have such a talented chef working with us, preparing the delicious food we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First we were here Friday evening, with reservation just around 6:00 p.m. for 7:30. We were told we would have to wait, it was very busy. After more than1 hour waiting at the bar my husband became very annoyed and wanted to leave. However after...More

Thank Feuerspatz
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Feuerspatz, Thank you for your lovely review. Last weekend was the cherry festival and very busy and were fully booked. So unfortunately the wait for a table was abit long if you hadn't made a reservation. We are glad that you waited until we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at this restaurant with a provisional booking during the busy cherry festival weekend and was glad we had chosen to spend a lovely evening with family here. Despite being busy, we were attended to immediately and kept informed of a table becoming available...More

Thank ushanaidu
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Ushanaidu, Thank you for your amazing review on our restaurant and your experience in it. Thank you for being patient and waiting for a table we are so thrilled that the wait was worth it, and that you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Clarens Brewery
626 reviews
.15 km away
Gosto Portuguese Restaurant
486 reviews
.16 km away
Highland Coffee Roastery
292 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Clarens Brewery
289 reviews
.16 km away
Clarens Xtreme Private Tours
81 reviews
.66 km away
Clarens Wellness Day Spa
65 reviews
.26 km away
The Ugly Duckling
52 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Laura S
6 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Shelley T | Property representative |
Hi Laura, With pleasure children are welcome and our kitchen closed at 8pm tonight. kind regards Shelley Clementines
1
Vote
smrgeog
15 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Shelley T | Property representative |
You are welcome to look at our website our menu is on there. I am not allowed to put the Web address here. It is the restaurants namE.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: cnr Church St & Van Zyl, Clarens, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Free State  >  Clarens
  • Phone Number: +27 58 256 1616
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing