We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tongariro Lodge Restaurant

₹₹₹₹, Gluten Free Options
83 Grace Road | Just off State Highway 1 North of Turangi., Turangi 3382, New Zealand
+64 7-386 7946
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good21%
  • Average8%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“salmon” (6 reviews)
“potatoes” (3 reviews)
“ham” (2 reviews)
Open Now
07:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
83 Grace Road | Just off State Highway 1 North of Turangi., Turangi 3382, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

We have had a disappointing dinner at this restaurant. We went for dinner here on December 23rd. Maybe not an popular day for going out?? It started great with some drinks in the entrance. Ready for dinner we were seated in the breakfast area!! Not...More

Thank Anjo d
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Hi, thankyou for taking the time to give us your feedback on your dining experience at The Lodge. My apologies that it was not to your expectations. We do utilise the Den area for diners when the restaurant is full, some guests actually request it....More

Reviewed 5 January 2017

We booked in for the Christmas Day dinner, for 7pm. On arrival there were many other people mingling around the entrance loibby and bar area, buying drinks and waiting. I was told dinner started at 6pm, hence my reservation for 7pm, as we wre told...More

Thank Flicks88
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Hi, thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent food & service, and obviously on this occasion we did not deliver as expected. I have discussed all your comments with...More

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Reserved table for 20:30. Arrived on time but were told our table wasn't ready. We were seated in the lounge with a drink and the promise of a menu. 20 minutes later, when we went to the bar to inquire about a lodging related question,...More

1  Thank Pat F
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Hello and Thank You for your feedback. I am so sorry that you had such a disappointing experience in the restaurant. As you can imagine this is not the kind of experience that we want for our guests. Your comments will be addressed with the...More

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Worst service in the southern hemisphere? Took 45 mins to take the food order, 2 hrs for food to arrive and 2hrs 15mins to get a drink! Food was good, if overpriced - but is any meal worth this wait? We literally returned to our...More

Thank SGK1000
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

HI, Thanks for your feedback, and I am sorry your experience is not what we want for our diners at all. This is definitely not our normal feedback, I am pleased the food was good, however the wait is unacceptable. I can assure you that...More

Reviewed 25 October 2016

Lovely, friendly service. Excellent meal. We all had the lamb shank which was full of flavour, very generous in size and delicious. Similarly the entrees were delicious. The wine list was a real treat, some delightful wines we were not familiar with.

Thank Michelle S
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank You for the feedback, and so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you at the Lodge again soon.

Reviewed 8 October 2016

Thank you all so much We had a great day yesterday and your venue, lunch and treatment of us was fantastic. An interesting thing to note is that my wites Aunty is a Culinary Course teacher and was really impressed with everything. Gordon had a...More

Thank shaynemnz
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thanks for your feedback, and we are pleased that everything went so well for the 80th celebrations. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge when you are next in the area. Thanks

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

A cosy little restaurant in a beautiful setting! We had complimentary cheese board to begin which was a nice touch! The Pinot noir was a good drop! We started with the pork belly and salmon - both perfect but the salmon was out of this...More

Thank Happyash A
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

HI, great that you enjoyed your meal with us, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We're staying on site with a group of mates, turned up to dinner at 7pm and waited 15 minutes before a waitress even bothered to see us. We ended up going to the waitress to see if we could order some drinks only to find...More

Thank Amanda K
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Hi, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your evening at The Lodge, this is not the experience that we want for our guests and I am sorry.

Reviewed 28 July 2016

Stayed at the lodge for 2 nights. Ate here on one of the nights and the food was amazing. I had the salmon which was pan fried and absolutely delicious. The cooked breakfast at the lodge was also 5 star.

Thank sandra w
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thanks for your feedback, great that you enjoyed your meal with us. Hope to ssee you again.

Reviewed 23 May 2016

This restaurant has a great atmosphere. is small and pleasant, it feels like you a nice living room. The food is top quality without too much fuss. Highly recommended.

Thank Andreea M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Monsoon Splash Of Spice
57 reviews
1.48 km away
Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant
141 reviews
1.22 km away
Golden Crust Pizza
16 reviews
1.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rafting New Zealand
855 reviews
1.59 km away
Tokaanu Thermal Pools
153 reviews
4.78 km away
Tongariro River Rafting
600 reviews
2.98 km away
Tongariro National Trout Centre
195 reviews
4.91 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tongariro Lodge Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Parking Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 22:00
Monday
07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 22:00
Thursday
07:00 - 22:00
Friday
07:00 - 22:00
Saturday
07:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 83 Grace Road | Just off State Highway 1 North of Turangi., Turangi 3382, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Turangi
  • Phone Number: +64 7-386 7946
  • E-mail
Description
The Tongariro Lodge restaurant, is renowned for excellent food. The menu is updated seasonally to incorporate the best of local produce.
We are open for Breakfast from 7am and Dinner from 6.00 pm Lunch by appointment. To avoid disappointment we recommend you make a booking.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing