We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sheldon Arms

) #22 of 104 Restaurants in Ashton-under-Lyne ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
2 Lord Sheldon Way, Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 7UB, England
+44 161 371 2090
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good36%
  • Average18%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Lord Sheldon Way, Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 7UB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I love a roast dinner but it is awful from here. I even tried to give it a second go months later and just reminded me why I don't go.More

Thank jaw93x
Management response:Responded 4 days ago

Hi, we are sorry to here that you have not been happy when visiting us. We always aim to provide great service and food and we apologise if we haven't done this for you on these occasions. Please email us at sheldon.arms@jwlees.co.uk, I would like...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came up from London for a wedding and stayed in Ashton for two nights. I ate here twice!! Both times waitresses were polite, friendly and welcoming. One waitress even suggested places for us to go and informed us about the wedding venue. All of...More

Thank donnamaries16
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad your viswit was so enjoyable and hope to see you again soon on your next visit up north. Kind Regards Olivia Sherrington

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in hoping to get a table as everywhere we usually go on a Sunday was booked and we'd only decided to go last minute after our sons football tournament. Got a table no problem for 4 adults and 3 children. The girls who seated...More

Thank Mumto3andhim
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called on our wayback from shopping to have lunch, we decided to have fish and chips which we enjoyed the staff were friendly and helpful. The service was excellent

Thank Barrie G
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First the good. The bar and serving staff are this restaurants best asset genuinely caring although getting the bill was a bit of a chore. Now the disappointment. What has happened to the carvery. Meagre portions of meat served by the most miserable kitchen staff....More

Thank Kaycee J
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your review. Here at the Sheldon Arms we try to deliver the best food and service possible and unfortuntely we failed you this time and for that I am sorry. If you could forward the details of you visit i would...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went in for a drink and got cheesy chips as well. Fair prices. Nice staff. The place was quiet which was nice.

Thank LisaSam_12
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Olivia Sherrington General manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I took my mother here on Saturday lunch for a treat and I must say the carvery was very good. Nice choice of veg and the quality of the meat was excellent. The pub however requires a revamp as soon as possible as it is...More

Thank mikeyb1958
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your review! we are looking forward to a referbishment at the end of August/beginning of september and hopefully you will come back and let us know what you think. Glad you enjoyed the carvery and look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 14 July 2017

We usually use the Sheldon Arms for breakfast and dinner when we are staying at the Travel lodge next door. Previous visits have been good, unfortunately the breakfast on the first morning was not as good as previous. Some of the food was cold and...More

Thank angibvn
Management response:Responded 15 July 2017

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed with our brekfast service on your latest visit. If you could forward to details of your visit with the date you visited and the other details mentioned to sheldon.arms@jwlees.co.uk. as i would like...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017

I do like this pub restaurant usually, have had some great meals, but I went on 25 June around 5 pm, place quite empty, unusual for Sunday, and we could not get any waiter service at all, so ended up going to Rocky's Diner, which...More

Thank 321jackie2016
Management response:Responded 14 July 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our business. I am so sorry that upon your latest visit you recieved such poor service. Here at The Sheldon we strive to deliver great service and tasty food and on this occasion we failed you...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Always had a friendly reception and have partaken of their Carvery which is great and reasonable as is all the rest of the menu

Thank John B
Management response:Responded 12 July 2017

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your reception here at the Sheldon Arms and about our carvery! We hope to see you soon! Kind Regards

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rocky's Easy Diner
26 reviews
.52 km away
The Indian Plaza
661 reviews
.71 km away
Ash Tree Farm
879 reviews
.98 km away
Five Guys
191 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Reborn Holistics & Day Spa
21 reviews
.54 km away
Sky High Adventure
96 reviews
1.31 km away
Portland Basin Museum
344 reviews
1.59 km away
The Hillwalker
6 reviews
.92 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Alan W
5 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Anna T | Reviewed this property |
Sorry delayed response ! Breakfast price varies on order but always fresh and hot .
0
Votes
Brian W
3 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Earley2 | Reviewed this property |
The staff are very good, and if the children's menu is not what you want they will accommodate any way they can.
1
Vote
marmike
25 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Homecar | Reviewed this property |
Hi your asking customers here, but I would not recommend breakfast it was very poor.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Lord Sheldon Way, Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 7UB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Ashton-under-Lyne
  • Phone Number: +44 161 371 2090
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing