We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain Digby

Whiteness Road, Kingsgate CT10 3QH, England
+44 1843 867764
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (41 reviews)
“pie” (8 reviews)
“baguette” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Whiteness Road, Kingsgate CT10 3QH, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018

Went here today to take photographs of the beach and the sea arch. Parked at the pub and paid my £10 for the day. Coffee before a walk then lunch and another walk capturing images. A final coffee before setting off home. Good menu and...More

Thank Mike F
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for your review, pleased to know you enjoyed your visit Many thanks

Reviewed 29 June 2018

I would have given 5 stars except for the attitude of the woman restaurant/food manager who argued with a customer that an unripe hard avocado in a salad was like that because it was so fresh. No, an unripe avocado may well be fresh but...More

Thank tlc50
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

We are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit. If you should wish to contact us regarding your complaint/feedback please do so to digby@thorleytaverns.co.uk. Many thanks

Reviewed 28 June 2018

I was lucky enough to find this pub online before we visited the area and after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I booked a table for an evening meal. This place is a real gem with wonderful views over the bay and seating outdoors...More

Thank Bob B
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

We hope you do visit us again. Thank you for this review it is greatly appreciated to know that our customers enjoy dining with us. Many thanks

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a quick beer on the way past. Decent selection of products in a clean and friendly place with excellent views of the bay. Quiet when we visited Sunday evening but I can imagine it gets packed holiday season. Didn’t try the food...More

Thank MarkP6522
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for your review and comments on our fantastic venue. We hope you visit again soon.

Reviewed 24 June 2018

Found this pub on a visit to Kingsgate. Made to feel welcome from the people who work there. Lots to choose from the menu with reasonable prices. The beer was a full pint, not known in most pubs. Nothing is too much trouble if you...More

Thank Ted T
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for your great review. We hope you visit us again soon 👍🏻

Reviewed 19 June 2018

The food and service were excellent but the noise level spoiled our visit.We will have to try another day. We definitely will return.

1  Thank barbara-ann B
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

We do apologise, some evenings where we do get exceptionally busy and have larger tables booked in it does sometimes get a little loud. We hope to see you again in the near future. Many thanks,

Reviewed 11 June 2018

can get very busy but very good and always accommodating. Roast isn't to bad and the chilli is epic!

Thank StevieG0007
CaptaindigbyInn, General Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thanks for your review, always good to book inn advance just in case 😊 we hope to see you again soon x Many thanks

Reviewed 31 May 2018

3rd time in as many months we have had the filet steak and tempura prawns and they are consistently fantastic! Splice the mainbrace is also amazing - highly recommend!

1  Thank stephfoulis
CaptaindigbyInn, General Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you for your review. So pleased to hear that our customers enjoy our freshly prepared food. Many thanks

Reviewed 31 May 2018

Always book if eating in restaurant to avoid disappointment as very popular. Staff very attentive and helpful. Menu varied and food never fails in taste and quality. So pleased we took a wrong turning whilst out driving and discovered this place ! Do visit -...More

1  Thank da7777
CaptaindigbyInn, General Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you for this very kind review. Our service, food quality and consistency is very important to us and it’s fantastic to know it doesn’t go unoticed. Greatly appreciated!

Reviewed 31 May 2018

Was a little put out when my husband came back to our table outside to tell me that as we were sitting outside our starter would be served the same time as our main meal, - what's the use of having starter then? After queuing...More

Thank 127val
CaptaindigbyInn, General Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

We do apologise for the inconvenience, however we do not serve starters outside due to the fact that it is not waitress service outside. If you would prefer starters, then you can order them seperately at the bar before ordering your mains and dessert. It...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Botany Bay Hotel
764 reviews
.44 km away
Walpole Bay Hotel
612 reviews
2.65 km away
Florence Court Private Hotel
15 reviews
2.74 km away
Royal Albion Hotel
763 reviews
2.92 km away
Nearby Restaurants
North Foreland Golf Club Restaurant
23 reviews
.89 km away
The Nineteenth Hole
28 reviews
1.02 km away
The Botany Bay Hotel Restaurant
511 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Botany Bay
331 reviews
.51 km away
Kingsgate Bay
80 reviews
.09 km away
Joss Bay
234 reviews
.65 km away
North Foreland Golf Club
22 reviews
.88 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Emma E F
27 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from rainycake21 | Reviewed this property |
Totally agree with the other responses, I've only ever experienced good service at the Digby and we've eaten there many times as the kids love the play area. Even when another customer got drunk and verbally abused other... More
4
Votes
Hergypergy
21 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Richard C | Reviewed this property |
The 'Digby' is very much a family pub and is popular for hosting parties, particularly children's.I was there recently and noticed what a popular draw the play area was for some children whilst their parents enjoyed... More
0
Votes
papakentuk2015
10 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from John W | Reviewed this property |
Hi I'm not sure whether dogs are allowed inside but they supply water bowls outside and we have seen dogs waiting for tasty morsels to fall from the wooden tables! John
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 29
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Whiteness Road, Kingsgate CT10 3QH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Isle of Thanet  >  Kingsgate
  • Phone Number: +44 1843 867764
  • E-mail
Description
With a unique childrens outdoor and indoor play area close to the bar serving varied meals and portion sizes. Our restaurant is separate and raised from our bar area with our ever so popular restaurant cliff top view. A friendly, family pub and restaurant with spectacular views close to the beach. Providing fresh home cooked food and local real ale.Catering for all ages all year round serving food from 12pm till 9/9.30pm 7 days a week.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing