We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain Digby

Whiteness Road, Kingsgate CT10 3QH, England
+44 1843 867764
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (41 reviews)
“pie” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Whiteness Road, Kingsgate CT10 3QH, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

On a hot September day I don't think you could find many better places to eat outside, fantastic views , quality food and very good sized meals. Service was first class and staff very friendly. There's also plenty of indoor seating , large car park...More

Thank christopherjd D
Reviewed 1 week ago

Has a very extensive delicious lunchtime menu to suit all tastes, pockets and with lighter options as well. Portions plentiful our adult choices of the warmed camembert and prawn cocktail as our starters and then the goats cheese salad can best be described as delicious....More

Thank julia b
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a wonderful meal. Food was excellent, steaks cooked perfectly, and very reasonably priced. Staff were great and very accommodating. Got the seaview we had requested and were treated to a very unusual sunset. Fantastic time - we will be back!!

Thank Sharon J
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Always a pleasure and will hope to see you soon 😊 Many thanks

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went for a meal here today with my heavily pregnant daughter, her fiance and my other eldest daughter. We ordered our food and sat down outside. I was a little hesitant at paying up front but did so as my pregnant daughter want to...More

Thank jackiekruse
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We apologise that you did not get your meals altogether to eat at the same, however we had found that your orders had been placed in 2 separate orders at the bar and not all at once and that had...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Captain Digby while on holiday in Broadstairs for a reunion meal with friends. There were 34 of us! I was so impressed with our waitress, who was so efficient, friendly and calm in dealing with such a large group, including some...More

Thank Helen G
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for review. Such great feedback for all of our team. Many thanks

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went here as it had an indoor play area for kids. Which is great. I had the roast beef. The beef was fine but didn’t taste of much. The vegetables were nice, but the roast potatoes tasted horrible, They were huge just didn’t taste...More

Thank KadieandStu
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear about your visit. I hope you made one of our team aware? We will always replace any meals our customers are not happy with. I hope you will return, our very popular menu has lots to offer. Thank you for your feedback

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We used to eat here when we lived in the area many years ago. We were looking for something light for lunch and the Digby was ideal. Menu good as to was the quality of food and the friendly, efficient service.

Thank Paul B
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review it’s great to know diners feedback. Many thanks

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Friendly staff , ordered at bar as had a bar meal , found a seat outside food was ok , but what spoilt it was the number of wasps about not just one or two but lots , a shame as we left before we...More

Thank end22016
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Nature has its way of disrupting things occasionally although they are out of our control when dining outside. We do apologise on behalf of the wasps and seagulls. They are as much of an inconvenience to us and we do...More

Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

The Digby have got a vegan menu and today we went to check it out. I was quite disappointed and I almost want someone from there to see this so they can make some changes as the venue and staff are lovely just a shame...More

1  Thank Louise S
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you for your review, and for your feedback. Please note that we do not advertise or promote our vegan menu. We just simply have a few options to offer vegan diners. We also have a non gluten menu, and a non dairy menu. We...More

Reviewed 10 August 2018

Visited here as a family group of 6 and we had an enjoyable time. The starters arrived in good time, 2 of us had the baked Camembert and for once there was a good amount of bread to have with this and the 2 girls...More

Thank Ploutarchou
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at Captain Digby, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you agin soon and pleased you enjoyed your visit. Many thanks

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Botany Bay Hotel
764 reviews
.44 km away
Walpole Bay Hotel
612 reviews
2.65 km away
Florence Court Private Hotel
15 reviews
2.74 km away
Royal Albion Hotel
763 reviews
2.92 km away
Nearby Restaurants
North Foreland Golf Club Restaurant
23 reviews
.89 km away
The Nineteenth Hole
28 reviews
1.02 km away
The Botany Bay Hotel Restaurant
511 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Botany Bay
331 reviews
.51 km away
Kingsgate Bay
80 reviews
.09 km away
Joss Bay
235 reviews
.65 km away
North Foreland Golf Club
22 reviews
.88 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Emma E F
27 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from rainycake21 | Reviewed this property |
Totally agree with the other responses, I've only ever experienced good service at the Digby and we've eaten there many times as the kids love the play area. Even when another customer got drunk and verbally abused other... More
4
Votes
Hergypergy
21 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Richard C | Reviewed this property |
The 'Digby' is very much a family pub and is popular for hosting parties, particularly children's.I was there recently and noticed what a popular draw the play area was for some children whilst their parents enjoyed... More
0
Votes
papakentuk2015
10 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from John W | Reviewed this property |
Hi I'm not sure whether dogs are allowed inside but they supply water bowls outside and we have seen dogs waiting for tasty morsels to fall from the wooden tables! John
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 29
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Whiteness Road, Kingsgate CT10 3QH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Isle of Thanet  >  Kingsgate
  • Phone Number: +44 1843 867764
  • E-mail
Description
With a unique childrens outdoor and indoor play area close to the bar serving varied meals and portion sizes. Our restaurant is separate and raised from our bar area with our ever so popular restaurant cliff top view. A friendly, family pub and restaurant with spectacular views close to the beach. Providing fresh home cooked food and local real ale.Catering for all ages all year round serving food from 12pm till 9/9.30pm 7 days a week.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing