We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fishmarket Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹Seafood, British,
Station Road, Mallaig PH41 4PY, Scotland
+44 1687 462299
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good29%
  • Average19%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (32 reviews)
“seafood” (26 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM Hours
Seafood, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Station Road, Mallaig PH41 4PY, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Had a light lunch here whilst ambling around an almost entirely deserted Mallaig on a chilly March weekday. My wife and two year old son all had excellent meals. I had a scallop and prawn chowder off the specials board, that was outstanding. My wife...More

Thank JoeTG
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We went in here for lunch after getting off the Jacobite Steam Train. Excellent food which was served promptly and professionally, considering the influx of people into the restaurant at that point. Very courteous staff and excellent food.

Thank 1750nick
Stay in the know!Get the latest updates on restaurants and more in Mallaig.
Join TripAdvisor
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We holiday in the area twice a year and eat here several times each visit. The food is excellent. What really makes the time there enjoyable is the friendliness and good service from the young ladies. It does get busy when the steam train runs...More

Thank David H
Reviewed 21 December 2017

I thought I had already tasted the best fish and chips in Fremantle, Australia, but Mallaig you have provided me an alternative on the other side of the world. We arrived on the Jacobite Steam train and as I'd heard Mallaig was famous for it's...More

1  Thank Wendy S
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

We went in to have some food, waited for 10 minutes for them to approach our table when it wasn't even busy. We asked for a couple of teas as their café upstairs was closed. My partner and I are allergic to dairy so we...More

Thank ShockingShock
fish m, Owner at The Fishmarket Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

I would like to correct you on your comments, you did not ask for food nor did you wait 10 minutes, you came in off the steam train when the restaurant was full and asked for 2 teas you were told only food is served...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017

We had lunch here today and it was stunning. I had scallops in a pesto roquette and they were to die for. Succulent, full of flavour and a good size. The sauce was so tasty that I mopped it up with the bread. My partner...More

Thank AliB365
Reviewed 27 October 2017

when the train pulls in you have to find somewhere to eat. We found this café and made our way upstairs. The menu was very limited with a small supply of cakes and we had limited choice. Part of order was forgotten but we were...More

Thank Europa101
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

One rude staff member as soon as we entered, cramped location, very over priced menu for the quality of food provided. Not senior friendly at all. I would not eat here again.More

Thank Krusty1988
fish m, Owner at The Fishmarket Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

It's very disappointing you had to write such rubbish, our staff are not rude they are very friendly girls, all this false accusations because you couldn't be bothered to go upstairs to the coffee shop you expected to be served tea & scone in the...More

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Friendly helpful staff serving good fresh local food. Would definitely recommend it. The chairs could perhaps be more comfortable.

Thank Charlotte K
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped here after getting off the Jacobite and trying to choose a meal was the hardest part. I finally chose the mussels in garlic wine sauce and they were amazing and fresh. My friend got the peat smoked salmon and it was probably the best...More

Thank Alohikea
Nearby HotelsSee all Mallaig Hotels
West Highland Hotel
635 reviews
.14 km away
The Marine Hotel
73 reviews
.18 km away
Morar Hotel
161 reviews
4.09 km away
188 reviews
9.45 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cornerstone Restaurant
664 reviews
.02 km away
Chlachain Inn Restaurant
578 reviews
.10 km away
The Mission Cafe
178 reviews
.07 km away
The Steam Inn
636 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Western Isles Cruises
167 reviews
.26 km away
Caledonian MacBrayne
143 reviews
.18 km away
Minch Adventures
43 reviews
.18 km away
Circular Walk
86 reviews
.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Fishmarket Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, View
Open Hours
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Mallaig PH41 4PY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Lochaber  >  Mallaig
  • Phone Number: +44 1687 462299
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing