We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
46 Northumberland Place, Teignmouth TQ14 8DE, England
+44 1626 772864
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 178: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This olde world pub is fantastic ! The staff, especially Gary and Abi the current managers are amazing; nothing is too much trouble. We had a beautiful lunch and with extra roast potatoes as requested which were delicious. On our next visit they even put roasties on our table while we were having a few drinks. Will definitely be going... More 

Helpful?
Thank brooksie24
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice old pub in the centre of Teignmouth and we had visited a few times for drinks. We decided to have our last meal there before heading back and it was a very mixed affair. The burger was extremely salty, as was the peppercorn sauce. One of us had a special which came with a fried egg,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joy C
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A happy customer for 10 years until the recent management change. Just awful visit, food inedible manager ignored complaint. We won't ever go back Avoid

Helpful?
Thank Sue S
Abigail R, Manager at Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We have been here for 7 months now but the kitchen staff are still the same as before so we are all very disappointed that you found your food inedible. We always strive to rectify any problems that may arise promptly at the time. It appears that on this occasion... More 

Halesowen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We liked it here but the low scoring is for the run of the mill ciders on offer. We were disappointed that there was no local ones to be had.

Helpful?
Thank SarahandMichael1993
Abigail R, Manager at Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House, responded to this review

We are sorry that our selection didn't meet your expectations. We are always open to any requests - and as such have added Rekorderlig to our selection after customers requests. Please do let us know if there is something in particular you would like to see offered and we will do our best to accommodate that in the future. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Across two weekends we took two sets of visitors for dinner at ye jolly old sailor...both times the food was great. The roasts are brill...great selection of veg, yorkies are just right and the roast spuds are just divine.

Helpful?
Thank Sam H
Abigail R, Manager at Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House, responded to this review

We are really grateful to you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are really pleased that our roast dinner hit the spot.....and that you came back twice!! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. More 

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great to find a such a lovely old pub that is dog friendly. Had a good roast dinner today, nice potatoes!

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
Abigail R, Manager at Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Potatoes are definitely a huge part of a good roast dinner so we are really glad that you enjoyed yours!! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Three of us ate here and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Only had main courses as full to the gunnels before we could clear our plates - shame as we all had fancied one of the excellently priced deserts. The menu contained a good mixture of standard pub grub as well as several dishes you would find on restaurant menus plus... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lin E
Abigail R, Manager at Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that next time you will have some room left for one of our delicious puddings..... More 

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Gary is the affable and efficient landlord of this quintessentially English pub. It is the oldest in town, replete with ebony aged beams, cosy nooks and crannies and characterful exposed brickwork. Real ales and all else that you would expect are served by pleasant and helpful staff. The menu is extensive, features daily specials and is good value with most... More 

Helpful?
Thank JamesBarnes084
Abigail R, Manager at Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! It is customers like you who help us to make this lovely old pub what it is, x!! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

First food I've had under new management. The nice crab sandwich which used to be nice chunky bread and white crab meat, now comes with sliced bread and brown mush. And at £8 for one sandwich it was a total let down. Really sad who things have gone.

Helpful?
Thank ChrisStockwell
Abigail R, Manager at Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House, responded to this review

We are really sad to hear that you were disappointed with your sandwich. Although the management has changed we do still have the same team in the kitchen. I can only say that as crab is so seasonal that when they are not ready to be fished locally we do have to (on occasion) source from elsewhere...and lets be honest... More 

1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Excellent meal, reasonable prices, swift service,...all in all very good.A good place for a pleasant evening.

Helpful?
Thank Dave F
Abigail R, Manager at Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write such a great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and your meal. We will look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. More 

Travellers who viewed Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House also viewed

 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46 Northumberland Place, Teignmouth TQ14 8DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Teignmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1626 772864
Description
We are a family and dog friendly traditional pub with a great menu and daily specials. A warm welcome, pool table and dart board are always here along with delicious home cooked food and a fully stocked bar including some great local ales! Events list available on request as we have something going on several evenings a week - From Jazz to Quiz to Open Mic - something for everyone! Come and see the Oldest Pub in Teignmouth, we think you will like it!!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ye Old Jolly Sailor Public House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?