We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crab Shack on the beach

Back Beach 3 Queen Street, Teignmouth TQ14 8BY, England
+44 1626 777956
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good11%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (147 reviews)
“prawns” (94 reviews)
“shellfish” (53 reviews)
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Back Beach 3 Queen Street, Teignmouth TQ14 8BY, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed today

I booked online on the afternoon of Tuesday 13th for a table for two at 6pm on Friday 16th and was informed that we needed to vacate the table by 8pm which was fine by us! The view out across the harbour was joyful and...More

Thank les h
Reviewed 2 days ago

We have eaten here several times but I was disappointed at the poor crab claws we had this week. The small bucket had several small legs in the base which had a morsel of meat in and three smallish claws was very poor value at...More

Thank Elaine_CExeter
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had a lovely Mother's Day lunch , not been here in a while and was not disappointed ... It's a consistently great restaurant always looking for ways to improve. Food was great , fish and chips a winner and chowder was lovely and not...More

Thank RGratton
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well, I apologize beforehand for the lackluster review, but regardless, I felt as though something should be written to show my appreciation. We arrived for an early mothers day treat on a Friday afternoon, and all I can happily say that in my experience, the...More

Thank Zac Z
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had high expectations of this place & it totally lived up to everything we'd read & heard. It's not a big place, so you really do have to book if you are visiting in peak seasons, which we were (July 2017). The atmosphere is...More

Thank Christine W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been here many times in the past but our most recent visit was with their new menu. Prices have shot up and quantity go down. Can’t believe we paid £22 for one crab claw and one crab leg which now comes in the small bucket...More

3  Thank notips
Kendelle S, Manager at Crab Shack on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon notips, Thank you for you review. I am sorry to hear that you feel this way about our new menu. Because of market price being at an all time high for purchasers of crab and lobster, this has had to reflect in our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant is in a very nice location , on a good day can sit by the beach and watch the sun go down or even from the restaurant. the ambience is great and would even be greater if they worked on their lighting as...More

Thank zippy_vdV
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly we were greeted with the "you only get two hours at this table"! And then it took over two hours for our mains to come out, no real apology just excuses, our oven isn't working, the wifi is down etc and then the food...More

2  Thank HaveFaith26
Kendelle S, Manager at Crab Shack on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon HaveFaith26, Thank you for your review. Having read this, I feel strongly that I need to reply. The day in question, admittedly wasn't a good day for us, to what you may think were 'excuses' were actual genuine issues that we were trying...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have always been a fan and advocate of the crabshack. For several years we have been taking the boat around to Teignmouth back beach to enjoy the seafood supplied. It is a standard treat in our home. Yesterday the weather was bad, so we...More

3  Thank LordManley
Kendelle S, Manager at Crab Shack on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon LordManley, Thank you for your review. After having read this, I strongly feel the need to respond. The day in question was an extremely busy sunday lunch time for us, and we were completely fully booked on our tables inside the restaurant on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went with friends and had a brilliant meal! Atmosphere and food was excellent. We had booked but our table was not ready so we popped into the old ship for a quick drink first as there's no bar to wait at inside. Had the seafood...More

Thank Ribby34
Nearby HotelsSee all Teignmouth Hotels
Brunswick House
15 reviews
.10 km away
Bay Hotel
231 reviews
.12 km away
Potters Mooring Hotel
344 reviews
.66 km away
Cliffden Hotel
262 reviews
.86 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Jolly Good fish Cafe
404 reviews
.24 km away
353 reviews
.08 km away
236 reviews
.24 km away
Teign Indian Cuisine
244 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Teignmouth - Shaldon Ferry
112 reviews
.55 km away
Ness Cove
134 reviews
.95 km away
Teignmouth Adventure Golf
63 reviews
.17 km away
Shaldon Wildlife Trust
269 reviews
.83 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Doug +sheila J
19 October 2016|
Response from Amanda S | Property representative |
Hi there .. We are closed on a Monday and Tuesday. We open from Wednesday to Sunday and serve food between 12-3 and 6-9. We close on 23rd December for 6 weeks annual closure. Hope this helps ... Amanda
Mirre S
26 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Amanda S | Property representative |
Hi there .. Sorry for the delay in replying ! We do sell gift vouchers .. You can telephone us and we can send them to you through the post, or you can pop in and buy one .. The telephone number is 01626 777956 Thank you... More
16 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from mytripawayTorfaen_UK | Reviewed this property |
Booking is essential, they are open following winter break ( going this weekend) On street disabled bays approx 50 metres away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Back Beach 3 Queen Street, Teignmouth TQ14 8BY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Teignmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1626 777956
  • E-mail
We are a family of commercial fisherman with two working fishing boats. The Crab Shack is a small restaurant on the back beach in Teignmouth where we serve fresh seafood.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing