We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Charles Dickens Seaside Gastro Pub & Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Flat 5-6 Spero Court 15 Victoria Parade, Broadstairs CT10 1QS, England
+44 1843 603040
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good32%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Flat 5-6 Spero Court 15 Victoria Parade, Broadstairs CT10 1QS, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We have been together for twenty years and decided to celebrate this special anniversary, by visiting beautiful Botany Bay Broadstairs. After a wonderful morning exploring Botany Bay, in the glorious autumn sunshine, we went for lunch at nearby Charles Dickens restaurant. We sat upstairs and...More

Thank jeanettef655
dickens2012, General Manager at The Charles Dickens Seaside Gastro Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks Jeannette for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your fish n chips and the stunning view. Happy Anniversary

Reviewed 6 days ago

what a treat and surprise! beer battered fish and chips with a great view of beautiful broadstairs. Do reccomend

Thank Cruiser03780651823
dickens2012, General Manager at The Charles Dickens Seaside Gastro Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Glad you enjoyed our fish n chips and the view. Thanks again

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in at lunch time and four of us has the sandwiches, which were tasty pub grub. As we were down for the weekend, we wanted to try one of Broadstairs many restaurants, but unfortunately all fully booked, so we ended back at the Charles...More

2  Thank Deborah F
dickens2012, General Manager at The Charles Dickens Seaside Gastro Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Deborah, thanks for your review. I'm disappointed my staff didn't deal with your meal complaint at the time. We work hard on our staff training to make sure customers are happy with there meals. I will be bringing up your comments with both my...More

Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here, you order and pay at the bar, then find a seat. The menu is very good with plenty choice for vegetarian and vegans. Not long to wait and lovely meal arrived and my friends fish was amazing. Helpful staff,...More

Thank Kay M
Charles D, General Manager at The Charles Dickens Seaside Gastro Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal but disappointed that did no notice our downstairs toilets. We have both and large men’s and ladies toilet in the corner of the bar plus a disabled toilet and baby changing...More

Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

It’s difficult not to notice this pub/restaurant given its sea front location. Our visit was impromptu, unreserved and a very pleasant surprise. The service was very good, I thought genuinely friendly too. It’s not pretentious, kind of does what it says on the tin, but...More

Thank TrueBlueRay
Charles D, General Manager at The Charles Dickens Seaside Gastro Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind review. I glad you enjoyed your visit and myself and the kitchen team will take your comments about your dessert onboard as customer feedback is so important to us at the Dickens. Thanks again

Reviewed 12 October 2018

Had dinner here twice during my recent stay in Broadstairs. The staff here are very friendly and attentive. I felt that quality here was a priority. We were very happy with our meals. The food was very freshly prepared and well presented. The atmosphere was...More

Thank Joe V
Charles D, General Manager at The Charles Dickens Seaside Gastro Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your food, service and atmosphere. Thanks again

Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Came here on a very busy Saturday night. The staff are some of the best I have seen in a pub, they really are amazing. They are friendly and smiling and chatty and attentive. We had the vegan rissotto, which was amazing, really rich and...More

Thank kelly19182016
Charles D, General Manager at The Charles Dickens Seaside Gastro Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind review and I’m delighted to hear you loved the vegan option on our menu that evening. Thanks again

Reviewed 11 October 2018

My partner and I had the seafood sharing platter which was excellent. Nice surroundings with pleasant staff. My only complaint was that we could see both chefs preparing our meal which in itself is great, except they both were eating and putting their un-gloved fingers...More

1  Thank dafferswestgate
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

I am a local and this is my favourite pub in Broadstairs. Today there was an unruly crowd with some swearing. I'm not a kill joy but I had to say to the guys please don't swear there are children and ladies here and you...More

Thank John S
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent overall my Wife had the tomato starter which could have been a little bit bigger. I had the homemade pork pie, delicious but larger than I expected. We have left feeling full and the price was very reasonable. Will certainly be going with the...More

Thank James M
Charles D, General Manager at The Charles Dickens Seaside Gastro Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thanks for the review and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully we will see you in December. Many thanks

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Royal Albion Hotel
782 reviews
.05 km away
The Yarrow Hotel
391 reviews
.66 km away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
368 reviews
2.55 km away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
559 reviews
3.11 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Samworth & Mee
316 reviews
.06 km away
The Greek
386 reviews
.11 km away
Morelli's Gelato Broadstairs
949 reviews
.07 km away
Raindell's
390 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria Gardens & Promenade
10 reviews
.05 km away
Pierremont Park
29 reviews
.09 km away
New Kent Art Gallery & Studio
12 reviews
.17 km away
Dickens House Musuem
136 reviews
.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
o-A_Good_Read-o
3 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from dickens2012 | Property representative |
Our chips are cooked in the same fryers as none gluten free items. If you are severely allergic this would note suitable for you but we offer alternatives like sautéed potatoes. Kind regards
1
Vote
Allwaysonhoilday
21 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from dickens2012 | Property representative |
Hi, our menu changes on a daily basis but we have Gluton free options available daily. If you contact us on 01843 600160 on the day you intend to visit our supervisor on duty will be able to tell you what they are. Regards... More
0
Votes
jennypenny45
21 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from awt4 | Reviewed this property |
I've been on Christmas Day and would go again - it books up ridiculously quickly though so you need to book months in advance. If you've got any specific questions I'd be happy to answer
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Flat 5-6 Spero Court 15 Victoria Parade, Broadstairs CT10 1QS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Isle of Thanet  >  Broadstairs
  • Phone Number: +44 1843 603040
  • E-mail
Description
The Charles Dickens is a British Gastro pub overlooking Viking bay in the seaside resort of Broadstairs.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing