We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sussex

20-26 Sussex Street, Rhyl LL18 1SG, Wales
+44 1745 362910
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good31%
  • Average21%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“sirloin steak” (4 reviews)
“curry” (4 reviews)
Open Now
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
20-26 Sussex Street, Rhyl LL18 1SG, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited The Sussex in Rhyl yesterday 15th April 2018 for a family meal. After ordering the 5 meals my daughter noticed that 1) the table legs were quite unsteady 2) the table itself was not clean - we did ask for it to be...More

1  Thank David S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Met up with our friends who were visiting for a bite to eat staff really nice and helpful, food was very nice had the full breakfast and wife had a breakfast wrap with coffees and water, the young man took the time to let the...More

Thank Steve P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just a typical wetherspoons with microwave burgers and cool chips ... Sorry wetherspoons but your food ain't as good as next door

1  Thank marcus r
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

went as a group of four ordered two cocktail jugs and pint of beer good value for money went twice during our holiday

Thank Anna B
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Only because I have to do a score I would give this place a zero came in for tea with friends what a disaster from the start my burger came was burnt and cold chips hard sent back when replacement arrived no better burger still...More

3  Thank rhino261
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am very sorry for your poor visit with us on this occasion. I have past your comments on to the team and will be looking into it Thank you for your review and we hope it hasn't stopped you from visiting us in the...More

Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Why do when you get your meal does some companies think you will not say anything when your food is Stone Cold!!!! So after waiting for your food, you have to send it back and wait again, wasting everybody’s time, money and food. Sort it...More

4  Thank Steven B
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking your time to review. I apologise for the visit you had with us and I have passed your comments onto the kitchen We hope you will visit us again

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Bad food, lousy chefs! I don't know what is happening but train your chefs!! Grub came out cold and the staff not bothered!More

3  Thank Ste-philly89
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

I am very sorry for the poor visit you had on this occasion. We aim to provide a high standard but clearly we fell short this time. I will past your comments onto the team and hope this hasn't stopped you from visiting our establishment...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner often go here for a meal. The prices are great and food is always at a high standard. Only downside is I have to wait until a Thursday for a chicken Korma 😂

Thank Shannon D
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you for your great review!! We are happy you enjoy your visits with us and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 24 February 2018

Called for lunch and upon ordering the fish and chips, they had no cod. A good start. Asked for the steak and kidney pudding, and there was uncertainty as to whether it was available. It was, but when we had the meal, the steak and...More

2  Thank Laura H
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your meal on this occasion. Please don't let this stop you from visiting us again and if you do have any problems again if you let someone front of house know we will be more than happy to...More

Reviewed 23 February 2018

Often visit our local Wetherspoon, on a Thursday night, for curry night. I went for the beef madras, which was served with a drink. I chose a pint of Ruddles with my meal. My friends and I tend to visit various Wetherspoon pubs, although not...More

Thank david w
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. We aim to have full stock on food at all times but this can be hard to do all the time and can only apologise for this! We hope to see you again soon.

Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Rhyl
Premier Inn Rhyl Seafront
17 reviews
.20 km away
Westminster Hotel
618 reviews
.24 km away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
391 reviews
.34 km away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
472 reviews
3.88 km away
Nearby Restaurants
179 reviews
.06 km away
La Galleria Coffee House
116 reviews
.09 km away
Chilli Pink
402 reviews
.09 km away
The Glanglasfor Club
42 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rhyl Town Hall
18 reviews
.14 km away
Children's Village
53 reviews
.21 km away
O'Grady's Irish Bar
6 reviews
.09 km away
The Lorne Hotel
5 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
2 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Milie H | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure as wetherspoon policy state no dogs inside and in beer garden at owner digression. I don't recall seeing fogs but would be interester in knowing if they do Thanks
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 11
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20-26 Sussex Street, Rhyl LL18 1SG, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Denbighshire  >  Rhyl
  • Phone Number: +44 1745 362910
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing