We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

West Loch Hotel Restaurant

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$ 13 - US$ 39
CUISINES
British, Healthy, Scottish, Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
75
24
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
75
24
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops steak pie seafood recommend this hotel nice evening place to stay en route ate here evening meal warm welcome lattice draught dogs scotland islay ferry
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from this wee break. A few of the items on the dinner menu were unavailable. I put this down to being a wee bit under stocked after new year. But later after reading other reviews, I'm not so sure. It appears to be...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank tiredandhappy
Alison M, Owner at West Loch Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi tiredandhappy, Thank you for your review. Apologies our menu wasn't as varied during your stay as this was down to being unexpectedly busy after Xmas. We proudly use fresh produce from local producers and suppliers for all our meat and fish dishes which unfortunately...More

Reviewed 23 November 2018 via mobile

Came out to celebrate my birthday The food was mostly good It was Friday night so very disappointed that there were no Scallops available. Don’t know who your supplier is but Murray’s fish shop in Lochgilphead had plenty when I was in earlier Our only...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank GolfStar57
Alison M, Owner at West Loch Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

Thank you for your review GolfStar57. We are sorry we disappointed you on your birthday. Unfortunately our local supplier had no scallops available at the time however we will keep in mind Murray's for the future. I have spoken with the kitchen team regarding the...More

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Booked table for Sunday lunch !! On arrival we were handed the menu and told sorry but we are out of the scallop starter and the roast pork is not ready yet ?? It was 1.30pm Asked what drinks we would like I ordered a...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jamescruachan
Alison M, Owner at West Loch Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Hi Jamescruachan, We're very sorry you had a disappointing experience of Sunday. It is unfortunate we had no scallops or prawns as we had ran out the evening before and couldn't get then from our local supplier until Monday. As for the pork not being...More

Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Ate here while staying locally before heading to Islay. A quiet spot with a nice view of the loch just over the road. Having had a 6 hour drive that day we were tired and so only had the one course which was a very...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MildredTheCat
Alison M, Owner at West Loch Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Hi MildredTheCat, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your steak pie. its just a pity you were tired as I'm sure our desserts would not disappoint. Maybe next time! Regards Alsion

Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Every night that I stayed I tried something new, I was never disappointed. All of the food is made to order, looked and tasted great. Couldn’t fault any dish that I had. The staff were friendly, very helpful and always put out more than the...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank stephreilly1745
Alison M, Owner at West Loch Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

dear Stephreilly1745 I am glad to hear you discovered new things and enjoyed tasting different items from our menu. I will pass on your kind words to our staff and especially our Kitchen team for leaving such a lovely review about their food. we hope...More

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel have recently changed there menu and it's hard to resist. The new options are amazing. Never dissapointed during my stay. Great service and friendly staff.. especially Bethany and Emma who were both just super awesome. Would definitely return and can't recommend it enough....More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MatthewH-88
Alison M, Owner at West Loch Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and will pass on your kind words to Bethany and Emma.

Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely staff in the face of adversity. Some obnoxious customer in red braces trying it on. Had a nice veggie burger will all the trimmings. Great service and a warm welcome. Would recommend.More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Nsfw B
Alison M, Owner at West Loch Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Dear Nsfw B Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review. we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and I will pass on your kind words to the staff. yes it was unfortunate that we had that particular...More

Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We went for a meal there, and have been there many times for years we are good locals one of my favourite place to eat in Tarbert! And last night was an absolute disgrace we waited 2 hours for our food and when we got...More

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank shoobsay
Alison M, Owner at West Loch Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Shoobsay Thank you for taking the time to leave a review We are sorry that your experience with us was less that great, I can only apologise for the wait time you experienced. In saying that and in responding to your review there are...More

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Two of us went for lunch on a Sunday with a dog. There was nobody else in the restaurant or bar which we thought might be a bad sign, and it was. We were shown to the dog friendly “bar” area which was a room...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank katewym
Alison M, Owner at West Loch Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear PmGirl25 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us in our dog friendly area was not to your liking, we are in the process of refurbishing our dog friendly area and would...More

Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Good food , relaxing music with a view of the gorgeous lake . Obliging waiter. Price wise fair . Very happy with dinner . Wished we could have breakfast there too .More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank jolinpl
Alison M, Owner at West Loch Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear jolinpl. Thank you for your review we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, and left happy. maybe next time you could indulge yourself and stay the night and then enjoy a fully cooked breakfast in the morning. it would be our...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
george f
22 May 2015|
Answer
Response from chirho |
The hotel is a mile from town, so a 15-20 minute walk, although there is a reliable taxi service in town if the weathers not to great. Also the Campbeltown and Glasgow buses stop outside the hotel.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing