We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mooring

₹₹ - ₹₹₹American, , Seafood
1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
+1 401-846-2260
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“doughnuts” (232 reviews)
“seafood” (391 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 2,596 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

What a great place. The lobster was delicious . The service was great . The view was over the docks was ok . Cream brûlée was fantastic . We had a great lunch .

Thank Andres E
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Andres, Thank you for the kind review and honored you chose to celebrate Mother's Day with us. Hope you can come back again soon. Gratefully, Dan Fischer General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Being a native of Newport I’ve been to the Mooring many times. The food was spectacular as always. Wait staff was terrific as usual. What ruined the great Mother’s Day dinner was when I asked if they validated parking to find out the answer is...More

1  Thank Barbaras4242
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Barbaras4242, Thank you for joining us on Mother's Day and I am happy to hear your enjoyed your meal and service. I am sorry about the parking, but the lot is owned and operated by another company and unfortunately, we do not set the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were so lucky to get last min late Friday night reservation. Service was great, our waitress constantly checked on us to make sure we were being taken care of. I was so impressed with their long list of mocktail selections. Being pregnant this was...More

Thank Daphne W
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Daphne, What a kind review! I'm so happy you were able to join us for dinner and also happy to know we had lots of great options for you to drink too. Glad the meal was delicious and we hope you can come back...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a great spot on the water. We had a quick lunch, the crab & avocado starter is superb and I tried a sample of five different oysters from that day's raw bar selection, all Rhode Island. Big parking lot right out front (pay)....More

Thank RKAustin
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear RKAustin, Thanks for the nice review and glad you enjoyed it here. You made some great lunch selections - I'm happy to hear they were all to your liking. Hope you can join us again. Gratefully, Dan Fischer General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

We tried to sample different places and foods. We did a good job but enjoupyed this place so much that I went twice and yes, had the same thing, seafood pasta. It isn’t inexpensive at $39 but it is a generous portion with shrimp, lobster...More

Thank David E
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you David! We are honored that you came back twice for the Seafood Pasta on your trip to Newport. We think it's a great decision. Glad you enjoyed it and the service as well. We hope you can come back again for more! Gratefully,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant had really great reviews so we had high expectations. We were disappointed. First, it is insane to find parking on the weekend around dinner time. If you park in the lot near the restaurant it’s $7/hour. Second, the portions were small for what...More

Thank Stephanie M
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Stephanie, Thank you for the honest review although I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We do take great pride in our reputation for serving exceptional food and never like to know we let a guest down. We hope you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were a table of 7. It was very loud and noisy. Waiters kept dropping drinks and plates. The service was terrible. The food was nothing to talk about. I had scallops and they were chewy.More

Thank Courtneycourtneye
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Courtneycourtneye, Sorry to hear about your experience. That's not typical for us as we have built a long-standing reputation on exceptional food and service. I apologize this was not what you received. If you would like to tell us more, please call me at...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Love love this place. Great food..service and atmosphere. Try the Fig..goat cheese on flat bread. Absolutely amazing.

Thank RoseFasano
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you RoseFasano! The fig/goat cheese flat bread is always a favorite. Hope you can come back again soon. Gratefully, Dan Fischer General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've been to the Mooring many times, and had a great experience every time. We recently also hosted our rehearsal dinner at the Mooring in February 2018 and it was amazing! From the early planning process, through to the last bite of desert, we had...More

Thank studenttraveler24
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear studenttraveler24, Thank you for the nice review and I am so happy to hear your rehearsal dinner was a success. We are always honored to be selected as the venue for such an important life event, and I am proud to know our team...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food, great service except a little slow for some reason that night. Great for couples conversation.

Thank Dragonphir
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind review and glad you enjoyed our food. Hope you had some great couples conversation too. We look forward to seeing you again. Gratefully, Dan Fischer General Manager

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Newport
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1,418 reviews
.18 km away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
308 reviews
.19 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
654 reviews
.24 km away
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
153 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kilwin's
270 reviews
.12 km away
Fluke Newport
606 reviews
.08 km away
22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille
1,403 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bowen's Wharf
319 reviews
.09 km away
Bird's Eye View Helicopters
175 reviews
.17 km away
Gansett Cruises
497 reviews
.11 km away
12 Meter Charters
216 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Patricia B
12 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 15 answers
Response from tug11 | Reviewed this property |
yes
0
Votes
missktraveldine
20 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from guyc171 | Reviewed this property |
Great Question, I guess I do not know since I never tell anyone how old or when my birthday is. Truth be told I usually forget the date. LOL
0
Votes
Melissa D
14 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from Decaf7 | Reviewed this property |
Definitely casual but would think everyone would up their game for Thanksgiving.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 30 - US$ 80
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
    (America's Cup Ave.)
  • Location: United States  >  Rhode Island (RI)  >  Newport
  • Phone Number: +1 401-846-2260
Description
The ideal embodiment of Newport dining: the freshest seafood, al fresco seating, expansive harbor views, and warm hospitality. Our award-winning wine list is one of the most acclaimed in New England.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;