We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


165 Sw Temple, Arrow Press Square, Bldg #1, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
+1 801-322-2421
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good28%
  • Average21%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“fried rice” (12 reviews)
“sushi” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Gluten Free Options
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
165 Sw Temple, Arrow Press Square, Bldg #1, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 136 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

The only persons who would enjoy the experience would be those who know nothing of Japanese food experiences. Loud, smelly, old, crowded (50 min wait). Mass production. Food with too much salt and butter, almost no veggies. Seafood most probably frozen and thawed. Would not...More

Thank Mona B
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Service was all right, but food was below average. Their sauces (meat and seafood) are tasteless and the seafood could be better prepared. Overpriced...More

Thank Rivadávia N
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Rivadávia, we apologize for this disappointing experience. If you have not done so already, please contact Guest Relations via benihanalistens.smg.com/. Our team would love to follow up with you. Your feedback helps us to make improvements. Thank you for taking the time to share your...More

Reviewed 9 April 2018

This was my first time to Benihana and I have to tell it was a wonderful experience! Our Chef was hilarious and our waiter was pleasant and extremely attentive! Well worth the money and we will definitely be coming back!

Thank Susan S
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Susan, On behalf of the Benihana team we look forward to serving you again!

Reviewed 14 February 2018

This restaurant is downtown and so you have the usual downtown parking to deal with. We had a person in our party with mobility issues and this restaurant is definitely lacking on that score. This person was taken upstairs on a service type of elevator...More

Thank BeachBumBecki
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Becki, thank you for sharing your review. We understand your disappointment as this shouldn’t have happened. Please take a moment to contact Guest Relations via benihanalistens.smg.com/ for our team to reach back to you.

Reviewed 3 January 2018

This was our second experience at this particular Benihana and it was just as good as the first. We had a reservation and were seated quickly. Teppanyaki chef Tommy was excellent, and while our server was new she moved quickly and had a great attitude....More

Thank idturista
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We had a huge convention and made reservations in advance so we could get a couple of tables close together. It was a busy Friday night and the staff at this restaurant did their best to get us two tabled next to each other. We...More

Thank fyremaven
Reviewed 21 November 2017

The service was great, kept drinks refilled dirty plates cleaned away.The food was good and cooked to my liking by the chef that put on a good "show". The only draw back of the night was the women's restroom that my wife called disgusting.

1  Thank drdoug3930
Reviewed 14 November 2017

This was my first time at Benihana but I had heard it was good. We had a group of nine ladies and it was hard to understand the waiter at times. First they served soup, which was good. Then he made the rice and then...More

Thank Shannon M
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We had dinner at Benihana recently, for the first time. We found the food preparation "show" put on by our chef to be enjoyable and the food was pretty good, including the higher end Chateaubriand Steak option. This location is awkward to locate downtown and...More

Thank Bruce H
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Always good to pop into Benihana, it does exactly what it says on the tin! The service here, in the suchi bar was excellent as was the food. A delight.

Thank SLELWool
Nearby HotelsSee all 78 hotels in Salt Lake City
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
329 reviews
.14 km away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1,264 reviews
.15 km away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
729 reviews
.19 km away
AC Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
12 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Eva's Bakery
217 reviews
.20 km away
561 reviews
.15 km away
Caffe Molise
596 reviews
.16 km away
Siegfried's Deli
224 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
City Creek Center
548 reviews
.34 km away
Salt Palace Convention Center
308 reviews
.17 km away
Capitol Theatre
107 reviews
.07 km away
Utah Symphony
71 reviews
.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jacob I
9 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Randy S | Reviewed this property |
Of course it will depend on what you order>>>>>>> I would say, $ 13 low and $ 28 high The dress is casual to dressy, I have done both, depends on the occasion>>>>>>> did this help??? Randy
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 21 - US$ 30
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
11:30 AM - 10:30 PM
11:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 165 Sw Temple, Arrow Press Square, Bldg #1, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
    (W.200 South)
  • Location: United States  >  Utah (UT)  >  Salt Lake City
  • Phone Number: +1 801-322-2421
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing