We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monsoon Bar & Restaurant

) #6 of 12 Restaurants in Franz Josef ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , Pizza, International
46 Cron St. | Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
+64 3-752 0101
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good45%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (69 reviews)
“lamb shank” (24 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pizza, International, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
46 Cron St. | Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 50 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2017

We had dinner on our first nights stay. The place was buzzing. We chose to have pizza which was very good so no complaints from us. We were talking to a couple like us from the UK who were waiting for their puddings. They were...More

Thank Paul C
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Had a few beers in the Monsoon beer garden on a sunny afternoon after our heli hike was cancelled. They do some great food (the fish bites were awesome) and good beers too.

Thank SCochrane
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We had dinner here on our first night in a camper van staying at the rainforest retreat. We had arrived late after a long NZ drive and had a hungry & tired 7 year old. We were welcomed warmly (without a booking) and served immediately....More

Thank Rennie F
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Hi Rennie Glad we ticked all the boxes for you and your family. Hope you had a great trip. Cheers Oscar

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

After 14km of glacier exploring we craved giod food... we got a warm welcome and friendly fast service ibstead... oh and the food was excellent and just what we hoped for!!! Thanks team !!!

Thank Colette V
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Food here is okay and on the surface the happy hour specials are fantastic. Unfortunately these specials were watered down for the most part and the selections outside of this aren't fantastic. This place hires your typical top 40 DJ but doesn't provide an actual...More

Thank igipopa
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Hi Igipopa Thanks for your feedback, however its is extremely incorrect. Our happy hour consists of a large number of $5 & $6 drinks. I'm not sure how you even water down a tap beer, a glass of wine from a wine bottle, a shot,...More

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

We visited this restaurant yesterday and unfortunately the whole experience was disappointing. The food order was wrong then we were made to pay extra for the fault of the waitress. The food was average, and the child's meal was last to arrive. The attitude of...More

Thank ginty1009
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Hi Ginty I am very sorry that we didn't get it right during your visit. It certainly appears we made many mistakes on this occasion. I can assure you that it is not the norm and we pride ourselves on giving great service and food....More

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

This is not a memorable experience, the service is average, and the food is disappointing. We ordered the massaman curry and received a dish that could only be described as stu!! We made the waitress aware and she explained that they had a change of...More

Thank Eddie F
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Hi Eddie Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that you we didn't meet your expectations. The dish you were served was a tradition Filipino curry called a caldereta which is super tasty but understandably disappointing when you ordered a massaman curry. This was...More

Reviewed 17 January 2017

My family and I ate dinner and breakfast here. Both meals were excellent. Breakfast was buffet style and served pancakes as part of the buffet. They had many gluten free options on their menu.

Thank Chris R
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We booked the Christmas buffet, arrived late but welcomed in and they found a table for 5, close to a roaring fire. Plenty of food with friendly staff, both behind the counters and patrolling around to make sure everyone was having a good time. Tables...More

Thank Shootingstars R
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We ate here based on trip advisor reviews and really weren't that impressed. My partner had sausage & mash and I had a burger, both of which were unsatisfying to say the least. It's similar to a harvester or just an even shatter TGI Fridays.

Thank James D
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Alice May
1,182 reviews
.18 km away
Blue Ice Cafe
626 reviews
.45 km away
King Tiger Eastern Eating House & Bar
696 reviews
.19 km away
Snake Bite Brewery
736 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glacier Helicopters
355 reviews
.25 km away
West Coast Wildlife Centre
567 reviews
.21 km away
Tatare Tunnels Walk
48 reviews
.18 km away
Franz Josef i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
46 reviews
.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Monsoon Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 23
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
16:00 - 01:00
Monday
16:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 01:00
Thursday
16:00 - 01:00
Friday
16:00 - 01:00
Saturday
16:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46 Cron St. | Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  West Coast Region  >  Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)  >  Franz Josef
  • Phone Number: +64 3-752 0101
  • E-mail
Description
Monsoon bar and restaurant will quite possibly be your favourite bar in NZ, with roaring fires & regular DJ's. We carry a large range of New Zealands finest beers and wines. The Monsoon restaurant will satisfy your hunger whatever your budget with all you can eat pizza nights, backpacker meal deals and a specially created ala carte menu specially designed by our head chef Ronald Lacanilao who has created a menu of mouth watering local delicacies to treat you after a hard day glacier exploring. Monsoon: it rains... we pour...
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing