We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Railhead Family Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
102 Winter St, Keystone, SD 57751-2033
+1 605-666-5210
Website
Today
07:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 227: English reviews
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This place was filthy. Food was less then mediocre! Please if there anywhere else to go then go! Be forewarned take a pass!

Helpful?
1 Thank jgost
rene p, Manager at Railhead Family Restaurant, responded to this review

We at the Railhead monitor trip advisor reviews very closely as they are important to our business and welcome constructive comments from all our guests. In this case i really dont think that your review is a legitimate one since our management team is always on premise and take great care that our establishment is clean and presentable. Since you... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Family of 2 adults 4 kids & we all found something different to eat. Had the Bison burger medium & it was tasty, my girl had the adult grilled cheese & loved it. The kids menu was reasonably priced & all 4 had different meals & all got full. My teen boy had the pancakes & they were a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael46635
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Our family group of six sat down for a decent meal. The place was mostly empty so we expected fairly quick service. Instead we got slow service from a wait staff that could hardly speak English. When the food arrived it was worse than any camp food we've ever had. My wife's chicken sandwich was literally uneatable. The Mac and... More 

Helpful?
Thank North-Idaho-Foodie
Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Hope I have the right place. Is this the one that is now WHISTLE JUNCTION at the corner of Winter St. and maybe Swazey? Went there for three mornings in a row. When we find something we like, why stray? The breakfasts were very good -- size, flavor, and price. The staff was very helpful. At certain times during our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Technical-Rose
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We were greeted with a smile and treated very well throughout our visit. The food was not very good, at all...but it really was off set by the service. We have children so we were more concerned with an appropriate environment and other relevant child accommodations than with the food quality. The salad bar is great.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
Level Contributor
331 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped to eat after the train ride. It was raining pretty hard and this was the closest place. We should have continued walking. The salad bar was old and dry and not much there. I did try most of it. Two soups. One horrible the other a cream something was ok. The pudding tasted like a tin can. Two... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darlene H
rene p, Manager at Railhead Family Restaurant, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your review and we are always trying to improve service, food quality and cleanliness issues and apologize for your experience with us. I am puzzled by one comment you made and that was that your server apologized to you and said he was new. At that particular time we had no male servers,... More 

Wentworth, SD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We were vacationing in the Keystone area and ate here after riding the 1880's train. The menu had a wide variety of choices with great choices for the regular and kids menu. I would recommend if you are in the area. We had a group of 12.

Helpful?
Thank Sue A
Inwood, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2016

If you're looking for good food at a fair price you stopped at the right place. The menu covers all choices including breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you're looking for something sweet and refreshing, enjoy a slice of pie. Service is steady and the atmosphere is simple. Expand your options and sit on the open air boardwalk and experience smell... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ward V
Kasson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We all had the buffalo burgers, they were very good and good sized. We had kind of compared prices as we walked thru town and they seemed to have them at the best price. We had good service and everything looked well kept and clean. Served quick. Would recommend and would go back!

Helpful?
Thank Amy L
Marietta, Minnesota
Level Contributor
179 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for a sit down meal on a hot day. We found a table our server saw us but didn't come over finally the guy from behind the till came and took our order. When our meal was to come to our table our server didn't want to bring it to us we heard him say it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodi56257

Travellers who viewed Railhead Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Railhead Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Buffet, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 22:00
Monday
07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 22:00
Thursday
07:00 - 22:00
Friday
07:00 - 22:00
Saturday
07:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 102 Winter St, Keystone, SD 57751-2033
  • Location: United States  >  South Dakota (SD)  >  Keystone
  • Phone Number: +1 605-666-5210

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Railhead Family Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
sparta, wi
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Railhead Family Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?