We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coach and Horses

) #9 of 87 Restaurants in Bishops Stortford ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Thorley Street | Thorley, Bishops Stortford CM23 4AS, England
+44 1279 710991
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (14 reviews)
“sunday roast” (18 reviews)
“pavlova” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Thorley Street | Thorley, Bishops Stortford CM23 4AS, England
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 496 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We went for Sunday lunch & despite the restaurant being really busy the service was good! The food however was exceptional

Thank Susan W
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Had a wonderful lunch on a beautiful sunny day. We had the option of sitting inside or dining al fresco and decided that inside was cooler. Varied menu which suited both of us, one being vegetarian and the other a carnivore. Service was great especially...More

1  Thank Stephen B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service, great selection of beers, perfect setting. They even had a magician on hand to entertain us and the kids! Please promote your huge well kept beer garden / al fresco dining area guys! More photos of this gem! We live so close and...More

Thank Peter B
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Peter B, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed the garden, our big boss Natalie worked tirelessly to get all the planting and flowers ready in time - I think she might secretly...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very slow service. Starter was O.K. but Oh! dear tough beef and the whole main course not very hot.. Pudding very acceptable. Generally a let down. Criticism accepted graciously by the management.More

1  Thank 873TRIPPER
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello 873tripper, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry you felt the service was slow on your visit - as you can probably appreciate due to the heat we were frequently rotating the staff as we couldn't have the same...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked last minute so we're happy to get a table. Being stuck away in a separate room on our own.....to be joined by a big party soon after was not ideal but my fault for booking late. We had lunch. Starter whitebait was lovely...More

1  Thank Bradley G
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Bradley G, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to read that the food wasn't up to our usual standards, I do wish you had said when in the pub and I could have rectified it for you, as...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our first visit as a family to this pub despite living only 10 minutes away. We weren't disappointed and loved the classic but quirky interior. Service from walking through the door right to paying the bill was excellent. Special mention to Maggie (I think) as...More

Thank Z S
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Z S, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Maggie will be absolutely thrilled to know that you loved her service, she really is a diamond and has superb customer service skills. I'm glad she made the dining experience for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner here on a Saturday evening, when the pub was very busy. Despite that we were made to feel very welcome by the staff throughout. They were very friendly and took the time to engage in conversation about our visit to the area....More

1  Thank missdixon
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello missdixon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience overall, we do buy the pies in so I will feed back the lack of filling to our supplier. Thank you for raising it with me....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was mainly served by Hillary and Marina and they where wonderful! This was our first time coming and have been wanted to come for a long time and we're glad we did! Service was top notch and the food was beautiful and tasteful. Highly recommend...More

Thank Jordaned322
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Jordaned323, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Hilary and Marina will be so pleased that you enjoyed their service. They are a great double act. Terri our head chef will be incredibly happy to read that you were...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here multiple times with partner and our families over lunch and dinner times. Lovely quaint pub restaurant feel, with great atmosphere and lovely menu. Food is always great, and the menu offers a great variety of dishes for different tastes. The pub garden is...More

Thank Aimee R
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Aimee R, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The entire team will be delighted to read that you enjoy the food and service. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon, Sam

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend visted here last year just for drinks so decided last night to travel the 40mins and come for dinner.. after checking online that food is served to 9.30 and when we arrived the sign out side stated they served food till...More

3  Thank Jh232
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello jh232, I'm sorry you felt I was rude when I answered about the kitchen being open, that was never my intention. I did stop to talk to you as I was at the coffee machine and said that we can definitely do starters but...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The George
95 reviews
1.28 km away
Alberts
149 reviews
1.57 km away
Baan Thitiya
183 reviews
1.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Green Room Sawbridgeworth
23 reviews
4.01 km away
The Henry Moore Foundation
150 reviews
5.19 km away
Hatfield Forest Nature Reserve
151 reviews
5.38 km away
Mountfitchet Castle
358 reviews
6.54 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Neil J
Are dogs allowed in the pub?
18 May 2016|
Answer
Response from James C | Property representative |
Hello Neil J - As we are predominantly a restaurant we don't welcome dogs inside the pub, however we openly welcome dogs outside in our garden area. Understandably, this doesn't help you on rainy or cold days, but please... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Thorley Street | Thorley, Bishops Stortford CM23 4AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Bishops Stortford
  • Phone Number: +44 1279 710991
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing