We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amber Jack Alehouse

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
American, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3150 Chatham Rd, Springfield, IL 62704-5307
+1 217-787-5222
Website
Today
07:30 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 07:30 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The one thing you can always say about Amberjack is that it's consistent. Ive never had a bad experience with food or the owner. The french onion soup if made there, is best in town by far. How can anyone pass up the rib deal on Thursday? Again, possibly top 2 in Springfield for ribs. Owners have always been friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paulie C
mctatro, Owner at Amber Jack Alehouse, responded to this review

Thank you. More 

Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We've tried 4 times in the past year, and we won't try again. The hostess (owner?) couldn't be more rude! Wow - how does that place stay in business? We asked for a table instead of a booth (little tight for the 4 of us) and she acted like it was a huge inconvenience - but half the tables were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank illini G
mctatro, Owner at Amber Jack Alehouse, responded to this review

Of course this reviewer's business is appreciated, as we appreciate all of our guests. As part of our greeting, we always ask our guests for their preference of a table or booth before we seat them. It is always our pleasure to accommodate our customer's needs. Thanks. Kitty McHenry, Owner More 

Sherman, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I ordered the Super Bowl Special. The ribs were wonderful and gone before I got to have seconds. I will order 2 racks next time. My boyfriend is from New Mexico and picky about chili. He and my grandson loved the chili and again I will order more next time. My favorite(other than the ribs) were the mini pies. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
mctatro, Owner at Amber Jack Alehouse, responded to this review

Thank you very much. Kitty More 

Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

By far the worst service I have ever received. ..pick a different restaurant. ..we sat for 1 hour before our order was taken. The owner waited on us. ..she was very short tempered and rude..she also made inappropriate comments to people in our party. It was a birthday celebration for my 92 year old Mother that would have been really... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mada4k
mctatro, Owner at Amber Jack Alehouse, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were disappointed; however, none of this is true. As soon as the last person in the party arrived, their order was taken. (The last person was late by about 45 minutes). I smiled and courteously waited on this birthday party for their entire visit. Afterwards, one of the guests thanked us for our service, told us what... More 

Level Contributor
130 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We had a mini family reunion dinner at Amber Jack's and had a very nice evening. We had a group of 10 and were seated promptly at our reservation time. Five couples requested separate checks and our server was very accommodating. I had clam chowder and a hamburger horseshoe. Both were excellent. I also ordered a bottle of beer that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cyclonegup
mctatro, Owner at Amber Jack Alehouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks. I was the server that evening. It was a pleasure to provide a place for the family get-together. Thanks. Kitty McHenry, Owner More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2016

visited for a family dinner wasn't that busy when we first arrived but it did begin to pick up and unfortunately they did not have enough help our poor server was running himself ragged. Even noticed the owner was waiting on tables. Got a pony shoe and the fries were soggy, not crisp grease needs to be changed in kitchen... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank disneyland57
mctatro, Owner at Amber Jack Alehouse, responded to this review

I'm sorry that your visit wasn't outstanding. Unlike a lot of restaurants, we don't schedule an excess of servers. We hire good servers who enjoy a fast pace. My husband and I often perform the duties of serving and cooking. We feel it is part of the charm of being a family business, and we enjoy getting to know our... More 

Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Amber Jack's does a fair amount of advertising and I had never been... thought I'd give it a try. The building is worn, sign painted on the wall outside is very faded and the baby back ribs were just okay- not anything to write home about.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel O
mctatro, Owner at Amber Jack Alehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for trying Amber Jack Alehouse. I've always gotten rave reviews for the ribs. I'm sorry you didn't find them outstanding, also. Lately, our maintenance budget has been concentrated on the kitchen. We will try to add new signs to the budget for next year. I am always available for phone calls if you want to discuss your experience.... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Three of us visited this am, arriving at 9:45. Our food arrived over an hour later. In between, we had to ask our server for refills as well as (45 min in) give her the order again. Two eggs and toast, order of biscuits and gravy with bacon, and 2 eggs, hash browns with fried onions, toast and 2 pancakes.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra K
mctatro, Owner at Amber Jack Alehouse, responded to this review

We strive to provide timely service and quality meals. I'm sorry that you felt we dropped the ball when you last visited us. I have followed up with a conference with your server regarding this matter. Please feel free to contact me. Kitty McHenry, Owner More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
290 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Ordered the 1/2 order of mostacolli and it was more than I could eat and was fabulous. The salad was just an ordinary salad but the rolls were superb.

Helpful?
Thank Linda E
mctatro, Owner at Amber Jack Alehouse, responded to this review

Thank you. The meat sauce is Ed's recipe. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

The service was great, never had a problem. My problem was speending 120 dollars on 5 meals that none of us liked. It was our first and last time going there to eat. I would rather go somewhere else and spent that type of money on food that fits the quality.

Helpful?
5 Thank ssreid30
mctatro, Owner at Amber Jack Alehouse, responded to this review

I have been in contact with this author. They were very gracious and helped me investigate this issue. The author had steaks, which do run about $20 each. Our Sandwiches and Salads are in the $8 to $9 range. --Kitty McHenry, Owner More 

Travellers who viewed Amber Jack Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Amber Jack Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 20
Cuisine
American, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Takeout
Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
07:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 21:00
Thursday
07:30 - 21:00
Friday
07:30 - 21:00
Saturday
07:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3150 Chatham Rd, Springfield, IL 62704-5307
  • Location: United States  >  Illinois (IL)  >  Springfield
  • Phone Number: +1 217-787-5222
Description
Casual, full service restaurant specializing in Catfish, Fried Chicken, Steaks, Pork Chops, Pasta, Sandwiches, Burgers, and Salads

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Amber Jack Alehouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?