We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Broken Spur Steakhouse

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
955 East Sr-24, Broken Spur Inn, Torrey, UT 847723 (Formerly Broken Spur)
+1 435-425-3775
Website
Today
17:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 17:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 268: English reviews
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being a vegetarian, I was leery of having dinner at a steakhouse on our last night's stay in the small town of Torrey, Utah. Several of the town's restaurants had already closed for the season, however, so our choices were limited. To my great surprise, we had the best dining experience in Torrey at the Broken Spur Steakhouse. My husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank Swimgirl040
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. So nice to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Glad we could accommodate you and it's nice to hear you left happy. Please come back again. Broken Spur More 

Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
163 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We waited nearly an hour for a table for six. The meal was worth the wait in my opinion. There are comfortable chairs and sofas in the lobby (the building also houses a hotel). The steaks were great. The service was good too.

Helpful?
Thank CarolHarb
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. So sorry for the wait. We are very busy this time of year. Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal. Hope to see you again in the future. Broken Spur More 

Cary, NC
Level Contributor
434 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The complimentary breakfast is not very good but I guess it's OK for free. The selection is very limited and the food was not very good. We had dinner here one day. The steak was OK at best. Since this place is owned by two ranching families, I thought the beef would come from their ranch and be very fresh.... More 

Helpful?
Thank viperflt
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review

We appreciate the review. For the breakfast we actually have a lot of choices. Toast, eggs, oatmeal, sausage links, country potatoes, biscuits and gravy, cereal, pastries from our bakery, sour dough pancakes... surely there is something you could find. If not I'm not sure what you are looking to find for breakfast. And our beef is cut fresh in our... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016

The salad was excellent with homemade croutons and pickled beets so I was hoping for a tender prime rib and it wasn't. The prime rib was done correctly but tough. There was a big hunk of fat the size of a hard ball on one end. The garlic mashed potatoes were lumpy. The napkins were so cute. They were cowboy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn E
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review

We appreciate the review. Sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience. If you would have let your waitress know, she would have gladly let you choose another option so that you would have had a better experience with us. We hope you come back again. Broken Spur More 

Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were in town for the night and needed a relaxing, casual dinner. Our bed and breakfast recommended the Broken Spur and we were not disappointed. Lucky for us we caught them on their final night open for the season. We both ordered steaks since we were in cattle country and they were delicious! And served with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boysens
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Glad you had a good dining experience with us. We hope you will come back again. Broken Spur More 

Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

This is kinda a fun place. It is a western theme, as you might expect from the name. I had the wings and ribs, and my meal was very good. I would eat there again.

Helpful?
Thank lrhaley2016
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. So glad you enjoyed your wings and ribs. Please come back and dine again. Broken Spur More 

Summit, Mississippi
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

We were staying at the Broken Spur Inn so the Broken Spur Steakhouse was pretty much a given. We were seated and waited on in a timely manner. The wait staff was informed and our meal was served in a reasonble time. The steak i had, had a very good flavor and was tender. Over all we had a pleasant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eccl5v18
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. So glad you had a good dining experience. Please come back again. Broken Spur More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Small friendly restaurant with a Western theme and really great steaks - we've had a lot of steaks around the world, and these were about the best we've ever had. Great value for money.

Helpful?
Thank David4758
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for the great review. Glad you enjoyed your dining experience. Please come back again. Broken Spur More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

We love the steaks. We had a great dinner here. Hubby had Angus, I, country. Both are very tasty. We also like the hot breakfast here. Their pancakes are my favorite. They seem to serve the same items each morning. A little variety would be great. Overall, pretty happy with the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Xuemei A
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner and the breakfast. We do have the same stuff at breakfast every morning, but it is actually A LOT to choose from. We have: pastries from the bakery, oatmeal, sausage links, biscuits and gravy, country potatoes, eggs, sourdough pancakes, toast, and cereal. I don't really know what else you... More 

Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
489 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

The broken Spur was my least favorite restaurant in Torrey. If you don't like steak don't go here, they have very little on their menu other than red meat. The restaurant itself is rather dark and dreary. My food was ok, but again I would eat someplace else before returning here.

Helpful?
Thank photoguywisconsin
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. You are right, we do have mostly meat because well, it is a STEAKHOUSE! We also have chicken, fish, salad, pasta, and a kids menu. So when you say we have a "very little" on our menu, you must want fast food. There are a couple of those in... More 

Been to Broken Spur Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 10 - US$ 33
Cuisine
American, Steakhouse
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:00
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 955 East Sr-24, Broken Spur Inn, Torrey, UT 847723 (Formerly Broken Spur)
  • Location: United States  >  Utah (UT)  >  Torrey
  • Phone Number: +1 435-425-3775
  • This restaurant is at Broken Spur Inn
Description
The Broken Spur Steakhouse is adjacent to the Broken Spur Inn. We are located at the junction of hwy 12 and 24 just up the hill. Our hilltop location with great views in every direction is sure to make your dining experience a pleasurable one. We also have a conference center which can accommodate large groups for catered meals such as reunions or weddings. Our steakhouse has a capacity of about 75-80 people. We welcome bus groups and motorcycle groups. Our gift shop is a great place for guests to browse before or after dinner. We also have a full service beauty salon on our property. After a long day of hiking or travelling you can relax in our indoor pool and hot tub. The Broken Spur Inn and Steakhouse has something for everyone and can be a one-stop location for your traveling needs. We are the gateway of Capitol Reef National Park. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Great rooms, great food, and great prices. Let the Broken Spur Inn and Steakhouse be your home away from home.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Broken Spur Steakhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?