We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$ 6 - US$ 49
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveller rating
424
201
87
29
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
424
201
87
29
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 12 March 2020

Seriously disappointed in this place. Only good thing was the beautiful setting over a Koi pond. Online Menu did not match what they presented to us.. That menu was very limited and just not appealing to us. We di decide to stay and found something...on the printed menu for each of us. It just was not good. Bread service cost extra and did not show up until the very end of our meal. They messed up my wife's order. Very expensive, food was bland and not much off it. Maybe 5 bites. Honestly Olive Garden is better food, more of it and much cheaper. And the bread and salad come with it. I would not go here again. Go find a local diner or food truck for better food. I would not recommend this placeMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
neagcosmin, Manager at Pulehu, An Italian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2020

Aloha, Robert, and mahalo for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am very sorry to hear that you had such a frustrating experience during your time at Pulehu. We are taking in consideration each recommendation we get and will work for sure on...More

Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

We thought the restaurant was very overpriced. We ordered the early evening course.. a salad, entree and dessert for $50. The heirloom tomato/cheese salad was simply ok.. the Chicken Picatta was a huge piece of “fried” chicken with pasta.. difficult to eat. The dessert was...good-chocolate cake with cherry ice cream. They do not serve bread unless you pay for it...More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
neagcosmin, Manager at Pulehu, An Italian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2020

Aloha, Ann, and mahalo for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am very sorry to hear that you had such a frustrating experience during your time at Pulehu. We are taking in consideration each recommendation we get and will work for sure on...More

Reviewed 17 February 2020

I come from the land of masterful Italian creations, so here in Lahaina I concentrate on the fish. Their “pesce plate” may sound demure, but the presentation and delectable taste were phenomenal. The fish is mongchong, a very deep water species. The filets were macadamia...nut crusted and grilled to perfection. An accent of asparagus or grilled Brussels Sprouts, a gewertraminer or Pinot Grigio to match, and the sunset on Maui is yours.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
neagcosmin, General Manager at Pulehu, An Italian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Aloha and mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for this great 5-star review. We really appreciate you being one of our happy customers and helping to spread the word about us. We look forward to welcoming you back in our restaurant!

Reviewed 16 February 2020

Located in the Westin Villas North building. Lovely grounds, partial ocean view. Very good Italian food.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
neagcosmin, General Manager at Pulehu, An Italian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in our restaurant!

Reviewed 4 February 2020 via mobile

It’s actually not a bad restaurant. It’s just not a good Italian restaurant. Had a margarita pizza and gnocchi to start. Gnocchi were essentially inedible, which apparently isn’t enough to get them off your bill. The pizza was mediocre at best. The risotto crusted fish...was actually pretty good. The lamb chops were well cooked and tasty. However, the risotto that came with them was a tasteless blob of rice. Seeing the pattern? Stick to the standard restaurant fare and you’ll be ok.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
neagcosmin, General Manager at Pulehu, An Italian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review our restaurant. Also, thank you very much for reviewing our products. We are taking in consideration each recommendation we get and will work for sure on a better variant of the menu. We hope that you...More

Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

Great setting, service and food. Always, a must "to do" on our vacations. Tiffany provided great table service!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
neagcosmin, General Manager at Pulehu, An Italian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much), Tom, for this great 5-star review. We really appreciate you being one of our happy customers and helping to spread the word about us. Tiffany will be really happy to hear about this wonderful review and she will...More

Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

My partner and I ate here last night. He had the Fettuccine Alfredo which was excellent and I had the chicken cacciatore which was mediocre at best. In a proper cacciatore the chicken is cooked in the sauce so that it is tender and full...of flavor. Here the dish was made from a half chicken which had been boned and over-sautéed so that it was dry and crusty. The sauce, which was quite tasty, was Ladled over half the chicken before serving. The polenta was excellent and the green beans that accompanied it were tasty but on the whole an overpriced major disappointment.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
neagcosmin, General Manager at Pulehu, An Italian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review our restaurant. Also, thank you very much for reviewing our products. We are taking in consideration each recommendation we get and will work for sure on a better variant of the menu. We hope that you...More

Reviewed 25 December 2019 via mobile

Pulehu is an excellent restaurant! We have been there twice now. Each time we had a wonderful 3-course dinner with a table that viewed the ocean. The sunset was gorgeous. The fresh fish, Monchock, was perfectly prepared. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 December 2019

We were shocked by how incredible the food was at this resort restaurant. We ate there four times in our seven night stay. We wish we would have found it sooner in our trip. Best resort restaurant in my 30 plus years of travel.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 November 2019

Just finished with dinner moments ago, after having gone two nights ago. What a different experience! The night before last, it could not have been better. Upscale, great food, awesome atmosphere, and terrific wait staff. Easily 5 stars, no question. Tonight, however, I'm hard-pressed to...give Pulehu even 2 stars. Somewhere between 3 and 4 lies the average, depending on your roll of the dice. Tonight I ordered the 109 pizza, which should be fairly trivial, and according to the menu has spicy coppa with Calabrian chile. The spicy coppa was not to be as they apparently ran out and decided to go with straight-up ham but didn't mention it. The Calabrian chile was apparently a drizzle rather than actual peppers, and it was non-existent. This is supposed to be a spicy and intriguing pizza, not a ham and cheese sandwich. You can get a DiGiorno's from the market in the lobby that is significantly better. The only reason it gets 4 stars overall from me is because of the Somme, Lauren, who is just completely top shelf. Incredibly knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly, she carries the place! I hope your roll of the dice lands you on a high note. Good luck - best to go with low expectations, at least the wine will be awesome!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
5,885 reviews
.02 km away
The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas, Ka'anapali
1,809 reviews
.31 km away
Maui Kaanapali Villas
1,493 reviews
.58 km away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
316 reviews
.68 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Duke's Beach House
6,226 reviews
.56 km away
Slappy Cakes Maui
1,656 reviews
.88 km away
ABC Stores
339 reviews
1.42 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Spa Rejuva
25 reviews
1.46 km away
Kahekili Beach Park
440 reviews
.30 km away
The Spa at Black Rock
836 reviews
1.44 km away
Lahaina Kaanapali and Pacific Railroad
16 reviews
.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Janet F
23 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sean_tamon | Property representative |
Aloha Janet, The current rate for our poolside cabanas are $50/day for the 2 seat option and $125/day for the 4 seat option (gazebo). Mahalo, Sean, Manager The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pulehu, An Italian Grill

Pulehu, An Italian Grill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5