We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zapata's Mexican Restaurant

46
All photos (46)
Certificate of Excellence

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Mexican, Southwestern

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Mexican, Southwestern
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
164
146
87
34
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
164
146
87
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chips and salsa enchiladas beans pork chilli steak mexican corn great salsa new mexico style chile verde great mexican food tex mex ground beef red sauce from texas main street the wait staff
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2018

After a day in Yellowstone NP, we were famished. We managed to get seated at Zapata's a little before their kitchen closed. Our server was cordial and efficient. We sipped on margaritas while stuffing our faces with their chips and tasty salsa before our dinners...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank COLOHUT
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Have gone several times. The prices are reasonable, food is always good, and love the margaritas. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank CEB23
sunnyskyCodyWy, Owner at Zapata's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you so much for the nice review. Hope to see you in the spring.connie

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Legit Mexican food in Wyoming; who’d of thunk it? Beef enchiladas with green sauce are fan-freaking-tastic! That’s what my server recommended my first visit, now I get them every time I go. Reminds me of home. Not much atmosphere, kinda slow; doesn’t matter, food is...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Matt W
sunnyskyCodyWy, Owner at Zapata's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you so much for the nice review. I will accept any suggestions on how to improve atmosphere. We are a bit slower because nothing is premade. So glad you liked it. Hope to see ya soon. Connie

Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

In our one week stay we ate there 3 times. 1 recommend the enchiladas.This place was a good find. The salsa was hot but it tasted great.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank dartyv
sunnyskyCodyWy, Owner at Zapata's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thank you so much for the nice review. Hope you get a chance to come back. Nice to see all our hard work pays off. Safe travels. Connie

Reviewed 20 September 2018

I generally give service a break on a one-time visit, passing it off as one underperforming staff member. This was not the case for our visit. The receptionist was absent, and when she appeared she never looked at us, and headed off to bus tables...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank TomE211
sunnyskyCodyWy, Owner at Zapata's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

First let me say how sorry I am that this happened. But when the cats away the mice will unfortunately will play. No excuse at for this and I will for sure be speaking with all of my staff and try to find out who...More

Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

When we arrived we were told a 10 minute wait, accurate. After standing by the door with only 1 couple leaving, we found 3 empty tables The bathroom was clean Waitress was fine Salsa and chips were great, as were the tacos. Sadly the house...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank caamedic
sunnyskyCodyWy, Owner at Zapata's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

So sorry you didn't like it. We are known for having great margaritas, not sure what could have happened. We change out our oil two times a week so it is nice and fresh and yes we do fry our taco shells we do not...More

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We’ve eaten at Mexican food restaurants all over the country so we have a general idea of what really good Mexican food is. This is not really good Mexican food. At best, I’d rate it average. The place is on the small side but very...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Stephanie M
sunnyskyCodyWy, Owner at Zapata's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

So sorry it wasn't for you. Not that it matters but all my Hispanic workers are in the kitchen. Plus I do say that my food is New Mexico style. I also have cooked and eaten Mexica food all over the US and mine rates...More

Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

It’s nice to have a place here in Cody with a little southwestern flair. The fish tacos and enchiladas are really good. The margaritas are good as well. Friendly service

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jimw993
sunnyskyCodyWy, Owner at Zapata's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you so much for the nice review. It is nice to see all our hard work pays off. Connie

Reviewed 6 September 2018

Excellent food. Spinach enchilada were fabulous. Fried pies a must! Staff was very kind and attentive. You may eat indoors or outdoors. We ate outdoors and enjoyed our lunch much.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jeannie C
sunnyskyCodyWy, Owner at Zapata's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you so much for the kind review. My staff and I do try very hard to make sure all are happy when they come into Zapata's. We make everything fresh daily and take a lot of pride in our food. Again thank you and...More

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our meal good , ate outdoors . We were disappointed with service slow and when request items it needed to be requested a second time .

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank B585AZkatherineb
sunnyskyCodyWy, Owner at Zapata's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

So sorry the service was a little slow. I have several new employees not quite into the swing of it yet. Thanks for the info. Hope to see you again sometime

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Zapata's Mexican Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing